Seeing Purple- Custom Save the Dates and Birthday Bag!

28 Jan

This week I’ve been seeing purple!  Purple is a hot color right now.  Tons of magazine covers have been filled with purple deliciousness over the past couple of months.  It wasn’t until the past year or so that I’ve become a purple fan myself.   I am in two weddings this spring and both brides are using purple! 

I completed a custom Save the Date order this week for one of those brides.  She wanted something with a vintage feel and floral to set the mood for her spring, farmhouse wedding.  Here is the finished product.

I used a lush, textured, creamy paper for the main invite and a linen textured muted purple for the background.  I added a lovely purple hydrangea to pull in the floral element.  I love hydrangeas!

I also made these bags for a friend.  I fell in love with this fabric at Joanns and finally decided I had to have it for my friend who also loves purple!  It is so much prettier in person.   I used the pleated purse tutorial over at artsycraftybabe for the tote (check it out here http://artsycraftybabe.typepad.com/artsycrafty_babe/2007/07/off-on-an-adven.html).  This was my second bag to make with this pattern.  It is simple and fun to make!  For the zipper pouch, I used the tutorial for the scrappy makeup pouch on Noodlehead (check it out here http://www.noodle-head.com/2010/10/scrappy-make-up-pouch-tutorial_20.html).  I love that this pouch stands up.  For some reason I’m still having a hard time with the sides of my zipper pouches (where the material meets the zipper).  I’ve had one pouch that turned out perfectly and the rest…well not so perfect.  If you have any ideas on what I’m doing wrong, please share!!

I”m so glad tomorrow is Friday!  Hopefully I will get to start on some new projects this weekend.  I’ve got some ideas for the house that I’m anxious to bring to life! 

Charmingly,

Kristin

One Response to “Seeing Purple- Custom Save the Dates and Birthday Bag!”

  1. Liz @ It's Great To Be Home February 1, 2011 at 11:29 PM #

    Thanks for your sweet comment on my blog, I’m having so much fun checking out yours! I absolutely love the bags you made – and the fabric is perfect! I think I need to add making one of these to my to do list. :)

Leave a Reply

