A New Technique- Quilting Fabric

2 Feb

I’m so excited! I’ve had almost 400 views in my first week.  I have no idea how, but I love it.  I find myself happier than I have been in quite a while and I attribute all of that to the blogging world (from writing this blog to reading the blogs of others).  Hopefully I will start getting some actual followers soon!

I was at Dillards last week looking at shoes for my friend Sarah’s wedding and they were having a really big sale.  I, being the bargain shopper that I am, had to take a quick look around.  I fell in love with a purse, but I didn’t really need it since I just got a new Michael Kors a couple of weeks ago (LOVE).  So, I snapped a photo and decided I would try to make a bag the same shape.  I first started to design my own pattern, but after a few tries I decided I probably wasn’t ready to be designing my own patterns quite yet (understatement of the year possibly).  Sooo I admitted defeat,  put those sketches in my drawer, and headed to Joanns yesterday to look for a pattern.  I found one that is just the shape I wanted.  The only catch is that it is for a quilted bag…hmm.  No biggie, I will just leave the quilting steps out since that is not the look I’m going for here.  After spending over an hour cutting fabric (gag), I began reading through the directions (I always knew learned the importance of reading all the directions before starting because I’m smart the hard way).  I made it all the way to step 1 before I got stuck (typical for me).  It required quilting the outside and lining fabrics together.  I  realized that this could be a problem as this would result in a different process than using a separate lining (thankful that I had this realization before starting instead of at the end…whew).  After an internal debate with myself, I decided to just give the quilting a shot and follow the pattern as directed.  Once I’ve made it “by the book” then I can adapt it to eliminate the quilting.  Oh, and in case you wondered about my original sketch, my sketch matches the pattern piece shapes exactly! Yessssss!

Now that I’ve bored you with that long long story, here is a picture of my first quilted piece.  I found the process to be super fun for the first piece.  The second piece was not so fun.  I haven’t started the remaining 4 pieces yet.  It is quite a time consuming process.  And I did might have gotten a little off when drawing my lines on the second piece so it is may be a little funky…I bet it was just the lighting…. :)  Hopefully tomorrow I can actually start sewing pieces together!  So what do you think of my quilting?

Charmingly,

Kristin

One Response to “A New Technique- Quilting Fabric”

  1. Vickie February 5, 2011 at 7:44 PM #

    Hey Kristin! You are quite crafty. I love the bags you have made and enjoy seeing your new projects. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

