Vegetarian Sausage Balls

8 Feb

This year we didn’t have any plans for watching the Super Bowl with friends (mostly because we don’t have many friends in Arizona yet) so we decided to do our own thing at home.  We love having traditional game food (burgers, hot dogs, cheese dip, apps, etc.). Oh, if I haven’t mentioned it, I’m a vegetarian (since 1-1-2002).  Jason is not a vegetarian, but he doesn’t mind eating soy meat products with me (I did get him real beef for a hamburger). I haven’t had sausage balls since I gave up meat years ago and I used to really love them.  I thought they sounded like great “game” food.  Somewhat recently, MorningStar Farms began making beef and sausage crumbles, equivalent to ground beef or sausage.  I love the ground beef and have used it a lot.  It works awesome in dishes like chili, spaghetti sauce and tacos to give you a good source of protein.  I had a thought that just maybe the sausage crumbles would work for veggie sausage balls, so I decided to give it a whirl. 

I used the Paula Dean Sausage ball recipe and tweaked it a bit.  They turned out to be quite delicious and even my meat-eating husband loved them!  Here is what I did:

Ingredients:

1 package of Morning Star Sausage Crumbles (equals 1 lb of ground sausage)

2 Cups of Bisquick (Paula called for 3)

3 Cups of Shredded Cheddar Cheese (I use some Mild and Sharp because that’s what I had.  Paula calls for Sharp.  You can use low fat and these will be a pretty healthy appetizer that tastes unhealthy!)

1 Egg (I added this to get the mixture to stick together as the Veggie Sausage isn’t as sticky as real raw sausage)

1/8 Teaspoon Pepper (I may have used a little more of this- I just sprinkled what I felt like was enough)

Salt (I added a couple dashes of salt)

To Make:

Preheat oven to 375.

Cover cookie sheet in foil and coat with cooking spray.

Put all of the Sausage Crumbles in a large microwavable bowl.  Add about 1 1/2 Tbsp of water and microwave until soft (about 1-2 mins).  Don’t overcook or it will get dry.  It does not have to be hot, just thawed.

Mix in all the remaining ingredients.

Roll into balls (have to really squish them together so that they stick)

Place the balls on the cookie sheet.

Back for 12-16  minutes (until they look a tiny bit brown and gooey- they will not get as brown as real sausage balls).

On another note, I have found some photography classes to take, hopefully sooner rather than later.  I have what I believe to be a decent camera (guess that remains to be seen), but zero photography skills.  Every time I upload a picture I’m embarrassed at how bad it is.  I’ve convinced Jason that taking some classes will be a great skill for life, especially after we have kids and are taking pictures of them all the time.  So, look forward to some totally awesome slightly better pictures from me in the future! 

Anyone have any quick tips to share for better photos?  How about some suggestions on good cameras that don’t cost an arm and a leg??

I’ve got one last step to finish on a master bathroom project.  Hopefully I can do that tonight so I can share the project because I’m super excited about it!!

Hope you have a great Tuesday!  I know I will because I snagged the last Diet Dr. Pepper in the machine this morning (we have a glass front machine so you can see everything in there)!  SCORE!!!

Charmingly,
Kristin

One Response to “Vegetarian Sausage Balls”

  1. Stacy Weitz February 8, 2011 at 5:40 PM #

    Looks great! Wish I could get my husband to try the veggie meat substitute.

Leave a Reply

