Two Years and Counting

5 Apr

Yesterday was our 2nd wedding Anniversary!  Our anniversary is such a special day to us both.  Jason and I date for 14 years before we became engaged.    As you can imagine, we’ve been through everything together, the good, the bad, and the ugly.   We are the very best of friends with a true and deep love and respect for each other.  He makes me feel like the luckiest girl on Earth every day.   Not only is he handsome, but he is brilliant, hardworking, domestic (he does the laundry and the dishes…be jealous, very jealous), optimistic, content, and fun-loving! 

The theme of our second year of marriage would be change.  BIG change.  Shortly after our 1st anniversary, Jason got a big promotion at work and in order to accept it, we had to move to Scottsdale, AZ.  We decided that this move was in the best interest of our family.  Some things worked out easily and other things were oh so difficult.  It was a three month process getting all of the paperwork, finding agents, selling house, finding a new job, etc. just to get out of Arkansas.  I was still working and traveling for work a lot.  Jason was traveling back and forth from AR to AZ.  We rarely saw each other.  He would land as I was taking off and vice versa.  We were two planes passing in the night…literally.  In the midst of that, we got our home, that we built together just a year and a half before, ready to sell.  It was heartbreaking because we put so much into that home, but when it sold after just 30 minutes on the market during the worst real estate market in decades, we felt it was a sign we were making the right decision.  I wasn’t even there when the movers packed our house.  I had to say goodbye a few days early since I was gone.  I cried and cried.  That was the last place my baby girl Sophie lived, the place where we got engaged, and the place we had our first Christmas.  So many special memories in that home.   Since the house sold so fast and I wasn’t ready to quit my job due to commitments at work, the girls and I moved into a corporate apartment for a month while Jason continued to fly back and forth.  We had never been apart so much in 16 years of dating.  When I finally moved out, we moved into a resort that we would call home for the next 6 weeks.  Since we had built our first home, we were….spoiled.  We had no experience with house hunting.  Finding a home with everything we wanted was a challenge and ultimately impossible.   We looked constantly from April- July and went through the offer/counteroffer process on four properties before we finally got a house. 

In addition to moving to a new, big city (my hometown had 3,000 people, our previous city had 50,000, and now we were living the 4th largest city in the country), a new home, we both had new jobs.  Jason was at the same company, but quickly learned that working at the home office was vastly different than the AR office.  I got a completely new job at a law firm, which also proved vastly different from my old job.  We both found our new jobs challenging and adjusting was not easy. 

After all of this and 9 months in Scottsdale, I think we finally feel settled in here (especially now that we are enjoying our pool!).  While this move was a good thing for our family, it was definitely fraught with difficult times.  Through this our marriage grew stronger and we, as individuals, became better people.  I wouldn’t suggest moving to a city where you don’t know a soul unless you really really like your spouse because you will spend ALOT of time together!!  Thank goodness, there is no one I would rather be with than him or I would probably have gone crazy by now (I’m sure he would second that statement)! HA! 

Who knows what lays ahead for our third year of marriage.  We sure don’t!  If you had asked me March 15, 2010 where I would be and what I would be doing a year from then, my guess would have been nothing close to what transpired!  Whatever this year brings, I’m grateful I will be experiencing it with Jason.

We celebrated on Saturday with a very fancy dinner at Mastros City Hall in Scottsdale.  Last night I made homemade spaghetti and garlic cheese rolls.  Jason took care of dessert by sending some delicious Sprinkles cupcakes to me at work.  To die for good!  I got some red roses for the table (we always have to have red roses for our anniversary since he proposed with red roses/rose petals filling his house and our wedding was all red!) and we ate by candlelight (with the National Championship game on of course).  It was simple and sweet, just like our relationship.  Perfection.

2 Responses to “Two Years and Counting”

  1. Stacy Weitz April 5, 2011 at 7:38 PM #

    SO SWEET! CONGRATULATIONS ON TWO YEARS OF WEDDED BLISS. LOVE YOU BOTH!

  2. Pam April 6, 2011 at 3:14 AM #

    This made me cry….love you both

Leave a Reply

