What’s For Dinner?

1 Sep

Last night I made an outstanding (if I do say so myself) meal for me and my husband.  The only problem is that it was soo good that we definitely ate too much of it!  It was so good and is definitely worth sharing.   I expect a request for these again soon!  What was it you ask- Spinach Burgers, Roasted Red Potatoes, and Roasted Asparagus (no recipe needed- just a little olive oil spray, sea salt, pepper and bake for 10 mins).

I found the recipes online and did some tweaking to make them even healthier and almost vegan. 

I first decided on spinach “burgers” that I found on Pinterest. My husband loved them so much he ate 4!  Spinach is full of health benefits!  Spinach has 20% of your daily dietary fiber, cancer fighting flavanoids, two antinflammatory epoxyxanthophylls, antioxidants including vitamins C and E along with beta-carotene, manganese, zinc and selenium  that protect against osteoporoisis and high blood pressure, lutein for good vision, immunity boosting and skin enhancing vitamin A,  and vitamin K which prevents bone breakdown and prevents calcium from forming in tissues. 

In addition to all the healthy stuff, they only take about 15 mins from start to finish!  Woo hoo! 

So, here is a photo of the burgers from the recipe author over at: http://thevillagecook.com/spinach-burgers/

Below is a list of the ingredients from the website.  My changes are in PINK. 

STEP 1:  Mix all of the following in a mixing bowl:

1 bag of thawed and well drained chopped spinach (SQUEEZE OUT THE WATER AFTER DEFROSTING)

2 egg whites  (USE 1 TBSP OF OLIVE OIL INSTEAD- THIS EGG IS JUST TO HELP HOLD THEM TOGETHER)

1 whole egg (I ELIMINATED THIS SINCE EGGS ARE NOT HEALTHY)

1/4 c diced onion (INCREASED TO 1/2 CUP SINCE ONIONS ARE YUMMY AND HAVE LOTS OF HEALTH BENEFITS)

1/2 c shredded cheese (I DECREASED THIS AND INSTEAD USED 1/8 CUP DAIYA CHEDDAR SOY CHEESE AND 1/8 CUP FETA CHEESE- IT REALLY DIDN’T ADD MUCH SO I MAY ELIMINATE IT IN THE FUTURE)

1/2 c bread crumbs

1 tsp red pepper flakes (I USED 1/2 TSP OF CAYENNE PEPPER BECAUSE I DIDN’T HAVE RED PEPPER FLAKES.  CAYENNE PEPPER IS JUST REALLY FINE RED PEPPER FLAKES- CAYENNE HAS DETOXING BENEFITS)

1 tsp salt (I WILL CUT THIS BACK TO 3/4 TSP NEXT TIME AS THEY WERE PLENTY SALTY)

1/2 tsp garlic powder

Step 2:  Form them into patties– don’t make them real thick so that they heat all the way through. 

Step 3:  Cook– Spray a large pan (I used a frying pan) with organic olive oil spray (check out “Misto” at Bed Bath and Beyond- you pour in your regular olive oil and it has a pump that turns it into a mister like Pam except it is much healthier you can also use on veggies and such to get a lighter coating than pouring it on) and cook the burgers on medium heat  for about 4-5 minutes on each side. AND that’s it! 

For a side dish I prepared roasted red potatoes. They take about 5 minutes of prep time and 35 minutes of baking.  These were so easy and savory.   Another dish my husband loved!  I choose this dish because Red Potatoes are very healthy as well (unlike baking potatoes!).  Red Potatoes have vitamin B6, which boosts enzymes to help with the formation of protein, DNA, and new red blood cells; dietary fiber (mostly in the skin which is why these are made skin-on) which helps lower cholesterol, fights colon cancer, and promotes healthy elimination; 60 different phytonutrients that lower cardiovascular disease risks and prevent prostate and lung cancer; 26.2% of the recommended daily intake of Vitamin C; and lots of minerals!  Whew- who knew potatoes could be so GOOD for you!

So, here is the photo from the website at:  http://megkat.com/2010/05/parmesan-roasted-potatoes.html

So, here goes the directions.  Again, my changes (only a couple) are in PINK.

Ingredients:

3-4 medium red potatoes, cut into small wedges (I used 5 small organic)
3 TBS olive oil (I USED 3, BUT WILL CUT IT BACK TO 2 NEXT BATCH)
1/3 C parmesan cheese (fresh is great, but expensive, so I use “shaker parm”) (I USED 1/4 CUP OF FRESH- I MAY LEAVE IT OFF NEXT TIME OR FIND SOY)
1 1/2 tsp garlic salt
1 tsp paprika
sea salt to taste (I DIDN’T USE ANY AND THEY DEFINITELY DIDN’T NEED IT)

Step 1:  Preheat oven to 425. 

Step 2:  Cut your potatoes into small wedges.  The thinner the more crispy they will be (I preferred a mix of both).

Step 3:  In a small bowl, combine the parmesan, garlic salt, and paprika and set aside.

Step 4:  Next, toss the potatoes and oil together in a mixing bowl then add the bowl of cheese and seasonings and stir to coat.

Step 5:  Dump onto a cookie sheet and arrange in a single layer.

Step 6:  Bake 25 mins then remove and flip all the potatoes (this is a must so they are good and crispy on both sides without burning)

Step 7:  Bake for another 10 minutes.

That’s it!  Quick, easy, and tasty!  So, here are my AWESOME (not) iPhone photos! (I also had some left over steamed broccoli and squash as you can see)

Hope you make these healthy dishes for your family!  You won’t be disappointed!

Happy Thursday!

Kristin

Leave a Reply

