Inviting, Eclectic and Warm or Modern, Clean, and Serene

9 Sep

Have you guys seen the HGTV show “Secrets of a Stylists”?  It is really a great show (it is on Saturdays).  I love how Emily (the designer) decides on the couples’ style and then names it.  I was thinking about that yesterday when crusing around blogland and Pinterest.  “What would Emily name my style?”   There are two basic styles that I like.  (A) the clean and modern look in lighter, neutral colors that feels calm  and serene and (B) the warm, inviting and “eclectic” look (new mixed with old, modern with vintage).   Let’s look at some examples, shall we?

Modern, Clean and Serene:

Source

Inviting, Eclectic and Warm:

Source

Isn’t that room to die for?!  If onlyI had a study….

Sadly, I don’t think I’ve accomplished either of these styles in my own home.  It looks so easy on TV and in photos, but I’ve learned, it really isn’t that simple!  Lots of things hold me back, including the two biggies- Budget and Time.  Since the thought of being moved again for work is always lingering over our heads, it is difficult to invest in things for the home that can’t move with us.   If it weren’t for that little  issue, I would change a lot of things in our home that would help me accomplish the looks I love (like changing the dark caramel colored carpet, mini kitchen makeover including the cabinets and backsplash, bathroom cabinet makeover, adding built ins to the awful, pointless and challenging “nooks”, etc. etc. etc.).  However, it just doesn’t make a lot of sense to invest in the house to make it suit “our style”, especially with the AZ housing market situation.   The finishings in the house are perfectly fine, not to mention brand new as the house was updated right before we bought it.  So instead, I sit and wait and look at those darn nooks every day and think “I don’t know if I can live with these nooks one. more. day.”  But, I will.   I will have to show you those awful nooks next week, along with all the things I’d like to change about our house. 

Do you have any fun plans for the weekend?  I’ve got a few things planned.  My friend invited me join her at a workout class called Karve followed by a short nutrition clinic on Saturday.  The workout sounds really interesting- it focuses on building a “long, lean ballet dancer body” and uses the ballet barre!  How fun does that sound?! And of course, I have my photography class on Sunday. Ugh, I’m really nervous about it.  I tried to read my camera manual last night.  I got so frustrated I thought I would cry if I didn’t stop!  Those things are not written for beginners, that’s for sure!  So, now I’m scared I’m not going to be able to keep up in the class, much less learn anything, because I don’t understand how my camera works.  Maybe I’m just not meant to take good photos?  I guess we’ll see.  At least I got my class with a Groupon so if I don’t learn anything, I haven’t invested much.  :) 

I’m so glad it is Friday!  Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

