What’s For Dinner- Brussel Spouts with Pine Nuts

15 Sep

I made a stellar dinner last night, if I do say so myself- Grilled Teriyaki Tofu, Roasted Sweet Potatoes, and Brussel Sprouts with Pine Nuts.  Fast, healthy and delicious the perfect combo!

YUM

When it comes to weeknight recipes, I need something simple (as in not many ingredients) and fast since I usually don’t get home until arounnd 7 from work.  Sometimes I have to alter a recipe so that it fits that bill, such as with the brussel sprouts.  I looked through a lot of recipes for a brussel spouts dish (I was inspired by Bodega Louis in LA, which makes an amazing brussel sprout dish- you know, one of those that is so good you can’t stop thinking about it).   I took some of this and some of that to come up with my own recipe that suited my time schedule (15 mins on the stove v. 50 mins in the oven) and dietary requirements (no butter or other bad stuff).  If you have never had brussel sprouts, they taste similar to cabbage, but probably not as strong (IMO).   The best part about this dish is “it tastes fancy” (as my husband said)!  It is a dish you find at high quality restaurants, but it couldn’t be more simple (although I’m sure at restaurants it has loads of butter). 

Brussel Sprouts belong to the disease-fighting cabbage family.  These little round goodies have a surprising amount of protein, are high in fiber, and are loaded with vitamin A, folacin, potassium and calcium.  They also pack in lots of cancer-fighting  vitamin C and phytochemicals.  And of course, they are low in fat and calories (25 cals for 1/2 cup cooked).  I know you wanna make some now!!

Kristin’s Browned Brussel Sprouts:

 

Ingredients (serves 2)

1/2 lb Brussel Sprouts

1/3 to 1/4 cup pine nuts

2 Tbsp. Olive oil

2 large cloves of garlic

Sea Salt

Pepper

HOW TO:

Step 1:  Cook olive oil and garlic (minced or sliced thinly- I minced) in a large pan until golden yellow.

Step 2:  Trim brussel sprouts and chop in half or chop them up.  I used a combo of both because I wasn’t sure which would be better.

Step 3:  Add brussel sprouts, pine nuts, and salt and pepper to taste.  Cook over low-medium heat for about 10-12 minutes until the sprouts and nuts are lightly browned.

That’s it!  Super simple, quick and healthy side dish for your family!

Sweet potatoes are all kinds of good for you too!  They are rich in fiber, minerals and Vitamins A and C which help remove free radical.  They also help with stomach ulcers and inflamed colons, lower blood pressure, helps prevent cancer in glands and tissues, and helps stabilize blood sugar!

Kristin’s Roasted Sweet Potatoes:

3 Large Sweet Potatoes (Serves 4)

1/2 Tbsp or so of Cinnamon

1/2 Tbsp or so of Sea Salt

Step 1: Slice sweet potatoes relatively thin (or get husband to do this, Jason does it because he doesn’t like for me to cut stuff like that after I almost sliced my finger off a month or so ago).

Step 2:  Coat potatoes with 1 1/2 Tbsp of olive oil and a couple of dashes of cinnamon and some sea salt to taste (Don’t go too heavy on the cinnamon just a light dusting).  Tip- I do this in a large ziplock bag so I can shake it up and coat all of the potatoes.

Step 3:  Put on a cookie sheet and Bake them at 350 for about 25 minutes (until everything else was ready).   This was the best batch yet.  The thinner slices made them much softer.

That’s IT!  Two SUPER EASY and quick dishes for a healthy, delicious weeknight meal!

Let me know what you think  if you try either of my these recipes!

Leave a Reply

