The Special Occassion Trap

16 Sep

I love my birthday, or any special occassion for that matter, so much.    Isn’t it such a good excuse to ditch our responsible healthy lifestyles that we’ve been working on?  Unfortunately, yes it is.  It has now been 3 weeks since my birthday.   I allowed myself to have some fun and indulge for my birthday.  Of course the next weekend we were going on vacation, so the indulgence continued another week. The healthy, active, responsible routine I had worked so hard to establish over the last two months was ripped to shreds in just two weeks!  I haven’t worked out since before my birthday (lest one little 20 minute run last weekend).  I haven’t done too terrible on eating, but definitely not where I want (and need) to be.  In trying to “enjoy” a special occassion, I let myself be sucked back into a life I wasn’t happy with, a life where I beat myself up at the end of every day for not being the person I want to be. 

After tearing myself down for the last couple of weeks (which you would think would be enough motivation to get me out of bed, but waking up early is so hard when you’ve been lazy for a while), I finally drug my booty out of bed and ran 4 miles.  AHHHH.  I already feel SO MUCH better.  And you know what else?  I’m going to get right back into mycrazy sexy routine of working out every morning, making my juice, making my salad for lunch, going to the grocery store regularly so I can make healthy dinners, dry brushing, etc.  I can do it!  I want to do it! I need to do it!

I am happy to report that while I was busy slacking off, my husband decided to start drinking green smoothies.  This is pretty huge.  It makes me so happy to blend him up a big glass of green goodness in the morning because I know it is going to help him live a healthier life! Woo Hoo!

Anyway, I just felt the need to share that I had fallen into the “special occassion ” trap, but am back on track.  So if you fall off too, justk now you can get back on.  One day at a time right?  And every little bit of green counts!  At least now I know, I am going into the holiday season with a better startegy than I did my birthday so that I can avert this issue!

I hope you have a wonderful weekend!  Hopefully I will get lots of fun stuff done that I can share with you next week!

Kristin

 

 

 

4 Responses to “The Special Occassion Trap”

  1. jessica September 18, 2011 at 10:58 AM #

    So what is the recipe for you green drink anyway?

    • Charmingly Kristin September 20, 2011 at 3:44 PM #

      I will have to measure everything, but Itypically use spinach, kale, cucumber, 1/2 banana and 3-4 strawberries.

      • Jessica September 20, 2011 at 8:50 PM #

        Do you put ice in it?

      • Charmingly Kristin September 21, 2011 at 9:07 PM #

        Yep. I put a little bit of water and a little bit of ice. You can put soy milk or coconut water too if you want, but I just use filtered water.

Leave a Reply

