The Traps of Life

22 Sep

“You take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and there you have The Traps of Life, The Traps of Life!”   Play on the The “Facts of Life” theme song….anyone with me here? No? Ok moving on.

In writing my post yesterday, I mentioned another trap of life- the “Up Sell Trap“.  That got my little wheels turning.  There are a lot of “traps” out there that we all fall victim to at one point or another.  Don’t we? (please tell me I’m not the only one….)

Last week I talked about the “Special Occasion” trap.  Thanksgiving, Christmas, Birthday, Labor Day, Memorial Day, President’s Day, your dog’s birthday, etc. etc. etc.  These celebratory days give us all kinds of excuses to indulge ourselves. Food, drinks, presents, cake, tattos, piercings, jumping out of planes, etc.   An escape from the mundane routine of our ho hum, humdrum responsible lives.

So, what are some of the other types of traps, you ask?  Here are a few I thought of:

Cheap Cheap Trap:  Let me know if this sounds familiar.  You’re out shopping for a black and white stripe v-neck shirt.  Then, you come across the sale rack.   Low and behold, there is a blue, yellow, and pink checked turtleneck on SALE for only $8! marked down from $80  Now, any reasonable-minded person would think to themselves “the very reason this is on sale is because it is hideous.”  However, for some of this, the Cheap, Cheap Trap sucks us in.  As opposed to the reasonable-minded person, victim’s  of the Cheap, Cheap Trap think to themselves “Woah! What a great deal!  I can’t pass this up!”  Oh, I’ve been there plenty of times.  I’ve got many a blue, yellow and pink checked turtlenecks in my closet (figuratively speaking,  of course). 

Bandwagon Trap:  This is a good one.  Gets me ALL. THE. TIME.  All your friends are doing it.  It is so awesome, you simply must get it/do it/see it/read it etc.  Now sometimes this trap can lead to positive results, such as spending days on end reading wonderful works of literature like Twilight because everyone else is doing it.  Other times….not so much, such as wearing Dr. Marten boots, with white socks and skirts no less.  I mean I never did that, but I can imagine that being a regrettable decision for those that did [side note to self- burn those photos asap]. OR, you jump on the bandwagon really late because you wanted time to decide whether this was really something for you. By the time you finally do it, everyone else has moved on to the latest and greatest, all the rage, new hot topic.  You are out.  And then the cycle repeats. 

I Had a Dream Trap:  We all have dreams, some old and some new.  Sometimes we become so ensnared in attempting to live out those dreams that we are oblivious to reality.  The reality that maybe this dream really isn’t one worth chasing.  We are constantly evolving as we discover ourselves, but when you fall into this trap, your dreams don’t grow with you.  You stay committed to something that you really don’t enjoy and don’t want anymore, just because it was your dream.  Key word- WAS.  I think dreams are awesome and that we should all have dreams, goals, and aspirations.  BUT, I’ve learned from experience that it is vital to have perspective on those dreams so that when you do finally achieve that thing you’ve worked so hard for or always wanted to try, it will be fulfilling instead of disappointing.

Try This Crap Trap:  This happens to me all the time.  I’m just minding my own business whilst walking around the mall shopping.  First, the lady at cart calls me over and asks me to try this new “amazing, miracle working” hand creme.  I politely decline, but she insists.  Because I am weak, I give in and try it.  Of course, its as sticky as honey.  I really hate for my hands to be sticky.  This has put a damper on my shopping experience, but I continue on to a department store restroom to  attempt to wash it off.  After 10 minutes of scrubbing, I figured out what the “amazing miracle” part was….it does not wash off. So, not one to easily give up on shopping, I head out back into the mall through the cosmetic section, only to be accosted by the perfume model who wants me to try the new perfume that is just “heavenly.”  No thanks.  But she continues- are you sure?  It is really wonderful.  Everyone loves it.  Crap- I’ve been hit with two traps at once- Bandwagon Trap and Try This Crap Trap.  Being a sucker, I say, OK let’s have it (I mean, the bottle IS really pretty).  She doused me in the golden liquid.  YACK- It smells like what I imagine cow pee smells like (I’m sure the yellowy color didn’t help with that).  Now I have to spend the rest of the day with spiderman hands smelling like urine.  Don’t even get me started on the food samples or free makeovers.  Let’s just say, I’ve learned to always be near a trash can when sampling and (after some rather strange looks)always  keep a mirror in my purse.

Por Favor Trap:  Hey friend- could you please help me with this one little thing? Pretty pretty please?  With a cherry on top?   Sure, of course, no problem!   I think for the most part, everyone loves to help others.  It’s our job as good friends.  But aren’t there times when you know you should just say no, but you don”t and you over-commit?  Or there are those people who ask for favors on a routine basis, but every time you need there help, for one reason or another, they can’t.   Por Favor can be a real rabbit hole.

The more I think about this, the more I’m looking like a gullible little sucker, aren’t I? Ok, I totally am.  And I’m ok with that!   I hope I’m not the only one falling victim to The Traps of Life time and time again!  Are there any traps that ensnare you?

3 Responses to “The Traps of Life”

  1. Jenn Francis September 22, 2011 at 6:53 PM #

    haha I love this!!! Have been there and everyone at least falls in one of those categories.

    • Charmingly Kristin September 23, 2011 at 9:40 AM #

      So glad to know I’m not alone!!! :)Thanks for stopping my blog!

  2. Don & Alice Faye September 23, 2011 at 7:38 AM #

    We are enjoying reading your blog. Had not been getting notifications, so had to go back and read up on your life for the past month or so! Interesting and entertaining. So glad you are taking the photo class. Wish I had done that years ago. Looking forward to seeing more photos.
    Did your mom tell you that we plan to winter in Mesa beginning in January?

Leave a Reply

