Easy Roman Shade with Banding

27 Sep

 

First off, I must start with the most important news.  I got my camera, I got my camera, I got my camera (that should be read with a sing song voice)!!!!  And I’m in love!  I’ve still got a lot to learn, but I understand the basic functions in manual and am doing pretty well with it.  I had a lot of fun taking desert pictures this weekend.  I’ll share those tomorrow.

I managed to be pretty productive.  I didn’t get my whole list checked off, but I did manage to clean the house, do a little organizing, grocery shopping, play with my camera, and finally make my roman shade!  I’m thrilled with (a) how great it turned out considering I took ideas from several different tutorials to make up my own way of doing it and (b) how easy it was!  I think it took about 1.5 hours total….2 at the most.  Of course, I had to make a run to Walmart and a run to Joanns because I didn’t have all the materials I needed, as usual, so that made it more time consuming!   The total cost was about $45, which is not bad considering this window is 60″x60″.  I used a pretty nice fabric that was $15/yard (Annie Selke Hot House Flowers),w hich was the most significant cost at $30.  Other costs were the suspension rod- $7 at Walmart, hooks- $3 at Walmart, and thread- $3 at Joanns. 

So, here it is.  I played around with the free editing software Picnick.  I think I overdid it on some of these, but I don’t have time to go back and fix them.  I took some of these photos at night and some during the day so you could see how it looks both ways!

Hope you like it!  The room finally feels almost complete.  I want something else for the top of my shelf and I still need my cork board for the opposite side of the room, but haven’t found the frame yet.  Maybe I’ll find it at Goodwill soon!  If you are in need of some window coverings, I highly recommend this project!  Easy, cost effective and looks great!  I especially recommend it if the view out the window is less than desirable (here it was a house and a block wall)! 

Hope you are having a great Tuesday!

4 Responses to “Easy Roman Shade with Banding”

  1. Pam1947pam September 27, 2011 at 7:47 AM #

    It looks great. Can’t wait to see it in person. Keep up the great work.
    You inspire me to do better.

  2. Allie September 27, 2011 at 9:07 AM #

    Love it! It really makes the room :)

  3. stacy September 27, 2011 at 1:29 PM #

    You are amazing! The room looks great! Congrats on the camera!!

Leave a Reply

