House Update!

5 Jan

I’ve got good news and bad news.  Do you want the good or the bad first?  Bad you say, ok.  I like to end on a positive note too.

So, the bad news is the buyer’s financing on our house in Scottsdale fell through and we will have to go back on the market.  Major bummer.  This wasted a lot of time because we have been under contract for almost a month.  I’m back to cleaning the house and waiting for word that the house is officially back on the market.  We have to wait until we get the signed termination of contract from the previous buyer.  On the bright side, we have learned SO much more about the real estate game.  We are quickly becoming true experts.

In other wonderful news, we got the signed contract on the house in Nashville!!!  Purchasing a bank owned home has proven to be incredibly tedious and has tested my patience to say the least.  The only thing that has kept us in this little charade is the possibility of getting a GREAT deal on a nice home.  We have the inspection scheduled for Tuesday and hopefully the appraisal will be tomorrow or Monday at the latest.  We are very anxious to get the results on these very important hurdles. 

I was considering posting photos of the home and going through all of our plans for the house, but I think I will wait until late next week when things are official!  Since I’m not quite ready to share photos of the house, I will tell you a little about it.  The house is 3700 square feet with 4 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, bonus room, office, formal dining, great room, and an eat-in kitchen.  The house is bigger than we really wanted, but we could not find a smaller home that was of the quality that we want.  I’m also sharing some of the photos that will provide inspiration for the home decor!  PS all of these photos are from Pinterest.com or Houzz.com.

Office Inspiration:  I love the dark charcoal walls and the white ceiling.  I’m trying to talk Jason into a dark navy, but he really wants the charcoal.  Since it will be primarily his office, I guess I’ll let him make that call.  Isn’t this ceiling to die for?!  I definitely want to add something similar to our office ceiling.  Unfortunately, we don’t have a fireplace in the office!

Pinned Image

 

Master Bathroom:  I love the neutral, calming and sophisticated look of this bathroom.  While I personally would love a white and gray, Carrera marble explosion of a bathroom, I fear that it is a bit too trendy and niche.  Since this will not be a forever house for us, I want to avoid anything too taste specific.  I love the built in mirrors in this bathroom with the sconces and the built in between the sinks. 

Pinned Image

Master Bedroom:  I love the calm and serene feeling of this room mixed with a touch of glamour.

Pinned Image

Guest Bedrooms:  I love all of these bedrooms.  Since we have 3 extra bedrooms, I hope to have some fun decorating them all very differently.  These are all blue based rooms, so I guess I’m going to have at least one blue bedroom!  I LOVE that pineapple-ish chandelier in the second photo SO much.

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Entry Hall:  I’m so madly in love with this console table.  Unfortunately it is $3000.  I’ll be looking for something similar that is more affordable for sure. 

 

And, that’s all I’ve got so far.  Long way to go, I know!

Hope you are having a terrific Thursday.  It is almost the weekend!!

Charmingly,

Kristin

2 Responses to “House Update!”

  1. Jessica January 5, 2012 at 12:46 PM #

    I LOVE all those rooms! Good luck on your home in Scottsdale. We too are about to be selling our home, but in Maryland, so good thing I’ve reading on how to stage a house on your blog! Thanks for the tips.

  2. stacy January 5, 2012 at 12:56 PM #

    You have such amazing taste! Will be so much fun to decorate the new house. Fingers crossed the next phases are less stressful. Love you.

Leave a Reply

