Office Design

19 Jan

When you walk into the new house, the first room you come to is the office.  It has beautiful white french doors to welcome you to the space.  The room is pretty small (12×12) and has 1 very large window.  The office is currently painted a lovely shade of baby blue. 

Here is a photo of the room from the listing:

 

I’ve always wanted french doors like these!  Don’t you just love that thick crown moulding and the thick base boards!  The first thing we will do is refinish the hardwood floors to a richer, warmer dark tone.   The next thing is to paint the room a dark charcoal.  I think with the natural light the room gets from the big window, it can handle the dark color.  Then, the room needs a light fixture (it currently has no lights!). 

Here is the color we are going for on the hardwoods (maybe a little lighter):

I love that this house has “real” hardwood floors (install, sand and stain type)! 

Here is the layout that we came up with:

Here is my idea for the room design for our cool, chic and modern office:

I am in love with it and cannot wait to see it come together!!  The picture on the top left is my wall color inspiration.   There will only be 1 chair and 1 light fixture, but those are ones I’m considering.  What do you think??  Any suggestions?

For reference, the rug is West Elm, the desk and bookshelves are Crate and Barrel, gray leather chair is West Elm, the white chair is Crate and Barrel, the lights are both from Overstock I think, the artwork is from ZGallerie and Ikea.  I really love West Elm.  I mean, you gotta love the affordability of West Elm (PS it made my YEAR to find out that Nashville has a West Elm….this is pretty huge because there are only some 13 stores in the country!)!!

Tomorrow I’m going to preview the bonus room design because I have a good start on it too!

Leave a Reply

