Exciting Arrival and Lil Blue Boo

1 Feb

Yesterday was a big day.  I finally felt a twinge of excitement over this move!  It came in the form of a text message photo.  This photo:

Our hardwood flooring for the master bedroom and bonus room was delivered to the new house yesterday!!  That photo was confirmation that this move IS real and this renovation IS happening!!  It is super exciting to know that by the time we get to Nashville next week, the hardwoods will be installed and the other hardwoods will be sanded down and waiting for the new rich brown stain!  This change is going to complete change the look of the home and I cannot wait to see how it turns out!

There is a blog that I enjoy reading that I must share with you.  It is called Lil Blue Boo.   The writer, Ashley, is truly an amazing inspiration.  I started reading her blog about a year ago because she had some sewing tutorials.  She has her own line of children’s clothing inspired by her little girl who she calls Boo.  I loved seeing her designs and her adorable daughter.  She has a fun and spunky personality.  The last half of 2011 has been incredibly hard for Ashley and her family.  She suddenly lost her father in the late summer and just a couple months later found out that she had cancer.  After almost dying during surgery, she is now battling the cancer.  Ashley is so open and honest about her experiences with cancer and her treatments.  She has opened my eyes in many ways.  Despite what she has been/is going through, she maintains a positive, cheerful, jovial, determined, and persevering attitude.  She has lost so much, including her ability to have more children, yet she never once has she shown the “woe is me” attitude.  Shortly after her father passed, she began a “Choose Joy” campaign.  Choosing Joy is realizing that no matter what is happening in our life, we can choose to let the circumstances bring us down or we can choose happy and be thankful to be alive.  She inspires me every single day and I’m so glad that her blog came into my life (even though it makes me cry…alot).  Her “Rite of Passage” video was deeply moving.  Warning- grab some tissues.  I also want to note that Ashley is incorporating Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Diet plan of green juicing (for an alkaline body) into her cancer treatment plan!  I’m keep her family in my thoughts and pray for a speedy recovery (PS she doesn’t know I exist…so I hope that isn’t weird- LOL)!

2 Responses to “Exciting Arrival and Lil Blue Boo”

  1. Jenn February 1, 2012 at 9:43 AM #

    Hi Kristen!! How exciting for your Reno and Move!!! I too follow Ashley from Lil Blue Boo and I find her as such an inspiration too!!! ;-)

Leave a Reply

