Week 16

22 Aug

Week 16

Baby Size- 5-5.5”

How Far Along- 16 weeks

Weight Gain- Thankfully my weight held steady this week since the big gain back during week 14. Still at about 6 lbs gained so far. Now that I’m starting to get the hang of working again, I’m going to work the gym into my schedule so hopefully that will help keep my weight on track.

Sleep- Still sleeping well. I’m exhausted by the time we are finished with cooking dinner and cleaning up after dinner, so I find myself falling asleep on the couch around 9. Jason keeps having to update me on the Olympics since I can’t make it through the nightly coverage. I’m still waking up once a night most nights to pee.

Maternity Clothes- I’m 100% in maternity pants. I bought some shorts a size bigger than I wear earlier this summer, but I discovered this weekend that I’ve outgrown them L So now I’m really hoping the heat goes away soon since I don’t have any shorts! I’m still able to wear some of my non-maternity blousy tops. Tighter tops are a no go now.

Aversions- I think all the aversions have vanished at this point. There are still many days were I can’t think of anything I want to eat, but not necessarily an aversion to anything particular.

Symptoms- Most of the RLP subsided during week 16 until the weekend. I’m still having heartburn almost every day (it kicks in around 4:30) but it is not severe and definitely manageable. My hunger has really kicked in and I find that I am hungry all the time. I’ve got lots of healthy snacks that I keep at work (apples, plums, string cheese, yogurt, almonds) so I feel ok about eating when I’m hungry knowing I’m eating nutritious things (most of the time….I’d be lying if I said I never ate junk food because I totally caved and had a snickers last week when I was having a really bad day).

Doctor Appointments- August 14- one more week!!!

Movement- I believe I am definitely feeling lots of movement. It feels kind of like someone stroking the inside of my uterus. It is a very strange feeling that is definitely unique. I usually feel the baby a couple times a day. It is fun to let Jason know when the baby is moving and I can’t wait til the movements are strong enough for him to feel!

Best Moment of the Week- I went shopping on Saturday with my friend Lydia and we went to a few local children’s boutiques. It is the first time I’ve really looked at baby clothes and it was very surreal. I still feel like I’m looking at it for fun, not because I’m going to be having a baby in a few months. There were so many cute, tiny things that I loved. I can’t wait until we know the gender and can start buying sweet things.

What I’m Looking Forward To: Of course I’m still looking forward to finding out the gender!!

What I Miss: I still miss feeling “normal” and looking like myself. I know it is all for good reason, but it is very strange to have no control over your body. Dealing with the body image issues is not something I expected while pregnant, but I think I’m actually more concerned now that I was pre-pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

