Week 18

25 Aug

Baby Size- 6” and 9 oz (that is the weight from the ultrasound….the average is only 7 oz so we may have a big boy on our hands)

Weight Gain- Still holding strong at 6-7lbs.

Sleep- Still sleeping well. I get up once a night for a potty break. I wish I had more time for naps because I think I could use at least one a day!

Maternity Clothes- Yuck. Still struggling to find clothes. I’m sick of re-wearing the same clothes over and over already. Almost none of my pre-pregnancy shirts fit and definitely none of my pants! Thankfully my friend Sarah was visiting this week and we went shopping. She helped me find some non-maternity tops/sweaters that work great!

Aversions- None!

Symptoms- Not much, thankfully!! I still have heartburn occasionally but I can control it with Pepcid. I have aches and pains in the belly from growing, but nothing too terrible.

Doctor Appointments- Well we finally had our anatomy scan this week and it was truly incredible. There are really no words to describe what it was like seeing this tiny baby moving around inside of me. We could tell immediately that the baby had my nose and it was so crazy that we could already see how much he looks like me! The doctor said everything looked great- music to our ears! Our next doctor appointment is September 12.

Movement- I’m getting strong kicks pretty frequently now (in fact I just had a couple while I was typing this!). They are usually down low but sometimes they are on the side. It is hard to describe what it feels like-kinda like a thump from the inside. It is hard to concentrate on anything else when he is kicking me because it is a tad uncomfortable (not in a painful way, just in an awkward way).

Best Moment of the Week- Hearing our doctor say that the baby looked great, followed by seeing the baby on the ultrasound and finding out that we are having a BOY! We had the ultrasound tech right the gender on a card that I made and seal it in an envelope. After work, Jason and I went to Nordstrom and picked out two outfits- one boy and one girl. We had the sales person take the envelope, open it, and wrap up the appropriate outfit (with us being away of course). When we got back home, we Facetimed my sister and she watched as we opened the gift! Jason was on cloud 9 for the rest of the night! We took a photo of the outfit and the card and texted it to all of our friends and family. It was a wonderful night!

What I am Looking Forward To: I am looking forward to so many things! We are going in LA in 2 weeks to visit my sister and brother-in-law and I could NOT be more excited. Since we moved to TN, we don’t get to see them often like we did when we were in AZ and I miss them terribly. I really want my sis to be able to experience this pregnancy with me as much as she can from across the country. We also need to get moving on the nursery plans and get our furniture ordered- super exciting!

What I miss: Nada this week!

Leave a Reply

