Crib Debate

11 Sep

Ugh. I’m having such a hard time deciding on a crib. In general, I don’t really like cribs and that is adding to the difficulty. I think they are pretty unattractive with all the cage bars. I think I have the options narrowed down to a couple of selections. I really want a gray crib (antique gray color) and that has limited my options considerably. But, here is what I
am down to.

Restoration Hardware Tate Crib:


I like the simplicity of the design and that I can put it against the wall or “longways” like a bed (which will give us more wall space). The color is called “distressed dove gray.” It is hard to say what color it actually is. I can order a wood sample, but I’m hoping the local store will have a sample. It only converts to a toddler bed, but that is OK because I can’t imagine using the same bed for the next 18 years anyway.

Next up is the Franklin and Ben Mason crib:


Jason likes the look of cribs that are higher in the back. I like the ones with panels on the ends instead of the back for the versatility. I really wanted to be able to use a crib skirt and I am not sure how a skirt will look with the drawer, but friends have said they have a drawer and use a skirt. I do think this one looks like a little boy. I don’t think it is as gray in person. It is also convertible to a full size bed.

Sadly, I could have gotten $100 off the RH crib if we had ordered over Labor Day weekend, but since we haven’t made a decision we didn’t get to capitalize on that offer. If we decide on the RH crib, maybe I’ll wait until another special offer as RH seems to do that relatively often.

What do you think? Do you like either of these cribs? Have any other suggestions? Here is a pic of an antique dresser of similar color to mine from the inspiration room at twentythreeohone.blogspot.com.

3 Responses to “Crib Debate”

  1. Mandy September 11, 2012 at 1:55 PM #

    I am not a huge fan of cribs in general, mainly because I cannot imagine spending such money on something my kids refused to sleep in. And, honestly, I couldn’t imagine having them in a whole nother room when they were so itty bitty. I say buy the least expensive thing, even second hand if you can find it. Our crib was from my cousins (so made in the late 80s) and it was totally sufficient to our needs (each kid slept in it maybe 10 nights of their lives, and not whole nights).

    So that’s my seasoned advice! Don’t spend a ton. I do recommend getting a good bassinet or Arm’s Reach co-sleeper.

  2. stacy September 11, 2012 at 2:40 PM #

    Tough call… they are both really nice. I tend to like the RH one myself… but that’s just me. Love you. xo

  3. Jessica September 11, 2012 at 5:29 PM #

    Try calling Restoration Hardware. For example…at Anthropologie, even if a deal has passed, if you call within 2 week, they always give it to you!

Leave a Reply

