31 Days of Productivity- Day 3

4 Oct

Yesterday I managed to scratch off another to-do. I called the tile guy and set up a time for him to come and tile our laundry room counter (next Saturday). I know that seems like a really simple task to have on the list, but it has taken me about a month to actually make the call. After dealing with contractors for so long in renovating the house, I was really dreading it (even
though this guy is really nice). I think I need a “sticker” system like little kids get when they are learning to do chores or potty training. I love getting rewards for doing things I don’t want to do (stickers will do, but I’d prefer to earn things like manicures and new shoes :) ). I’ll pose this idea to Jason and see if he goes for it….I’m pretty sure he’d do anything to encourage me to keep my stuff organized and put away. Ha!

In other news, I had to go to the dentist again (I went Friday too) today (at 7:30 AM no less…man I’m a good employee trying not to miss any more work….although I don’t think anyone even notices when I’m here or gone). We thought it was just a little chip, but apparently it was a major cavity (first cavity ever) in between two teeth. Let me tell you, Liam really saved me this time. After the dentist was finished drilling away at my tooth, he told me that if he had been able to do an x-ray he could have seen how major this was and would have suggested a root canal. Since he didn’t know ahead of time he just filled it and said to keep an eye out for any tooth aches (and warned me I would be hurting pretty bad for the next couple days). I do NOT want a root canal, so thanks kid for being in my belly and preventing any x-rays. My life is already getting better because of little Liam. Of course, he probably caused the cavity by draining all the calcium from my teeth (that is the only logical explanation since I’ve never had a cavity before), but I’ll keep my mind on the positive side.

I think I’ll go to the Restoration Hardware store tonight and see if they have fabric samples for their baby bedding. Everything is 20% off until the 8th and I really love their bedding. It is so comfy and soft (we have sheets, quilt, duvet and duvet cover). I think Liam would love it too. Jason picked up all the tools for the board and batten last night from our friends. You should see this giant saw….if he makes it through this project with 10 fingers it will be quite an accomplishment. Fun times ahead this weekend at the Wood household.

1. Paintings for Family Room
2. Find Pediatrician (avoid OBGYN bad list for not doing my homework)
3. Decorate house for fall
4. Work on baby registry -COMPLETE
5. Call tile guy to tile laundry room counter- COMPLETE
6. Work on board and batten in nursery
7. Attach buttons to new headboard- COMPLETE
8. Organize craft closet (holy cow)
9. Find a maternity/newborn photographer
10. Help my sister with the baby shower decorations
11. Get a flu shot L
12. Prepare binder for hospital/insurance/baby paperwork
13. Find fabric for nursery curtains
14. Order rug for nursery
15. Finish trim work in master bathroom
16. Change out flower box to mums
17. Call painters to finish painting master bathroom
18. Order “wedding” photos
19. Find curtain rod for nursery
20. Order/make thank you notes
21. Write thank you notes for gifts received
22. Find dresser for nursery (paint if necessary)
23. Paint blue table in gray room
24. Purchase post-partum recovery items
25. Organize the pantry (yikes)
26. Pre-register at hospital
27. Register for birthing class and breastfeeding class (oh boy)
28. Find a dress for baby shower
29. Make name banner for nursery
30. Make keepsake card ring for baby cards (a la Pinterest)
31. Hang curtains in “gray” room
32. Pick up and assemble crib
33. Relax in a warm bubble bath and revel in all your productivity for the month

Leave a Reply

