Day 8

9 Oct

I don’t know why ordering the nursery bedding wasn’t on the list, but it should have been so I added it and scratched it off! We spent almost 2 hours in Restoration Hardware last night placing our order. We ran into quite a few issues (no fabric swatches and out of stock), which made this simple task grueling. We ended up ordering 3 crib bumpers, 2 crib skirts, and
4 crib sheets. And none of them are the one I originally picked out because it was out of stock and wouldn’t be in until the end of December/early January (which wouldn’t allow us to compare it with the others that will be here in a week or 2 within the return time frame). Don’t worry, we will only be keeping 1 bumper, 1 skirt, and 2 sheets. We just decided to go ahead and order everything we might like and pick in person since there were no fabric swatches that way we only pay shipping once (if we exchange we don’t have to pay shipping again supposedly). SO, it was basically a disaster. We were both hungry and the lady helping us didn’t know any more than I did. Jason and I were frustrated and probably not the nicest customers. It is ridiculous that they don’t have fabric swatches of everything they sell (they are available for order online), not to mention how bad it is for inventory control because people order way more than the need knowing they will just return what doesn’t work (or maybe that’s just us?).

And that is all we managed to do for the night besides eat and play ball with the dogs.

I go to the doctor tomorrow for a check-up, glucose test, and flu shot. The thought of the flu shot makes me want to cry. I really really don’t like shots and I’m not a big believer in the flu shot, but it is highly recommended so I guess I’ll do it for the baby (it’s a trade for Liam saving me from a root canal). At least I know what I’ll be marking off the list tomorrow. I’m thankful I don’t have to fast for the glucose test since I don’t go in until 10:15. I am hoping that I pass despite the sweet tooth I’ve acquired the last two weeks. I’m going to eat a protein rich breakfast tomorrow for sure (maybe that will help stabilize any sugar levels). Bring on the eggs and veggie bacon.

Speaking of food, I really need to go to the grocery store. I do not enjoy the grocery shopping process and have to force myself to go. We are out of all the essentials so I guess I should go by on the way home from work. Yipee.

PS our house is freezing. We are trying not to give in and turn on the heat yet because it isn’t that cold outside, but it was 64 when I got home from work yesterday. We bundled up in sweatshirts last night. I can only imagine how cold it was this morning when I woke up. I sleep so great when it is cold in the room . The low is 37 on Wednesday night so I think that may be the day we give in to the heater.

1. Paintings for Family Room (1 down, 2 to go)
2. Find Pediatrician (avoid OBGYN bad list for not doing my homework) COMPLETE
3. Decorate house for fall COMPLETE
4. Work on baby registry -COMPLETE
5. Call tile guy to tile laundry room counter- COMPLETE
6. Work on board and batten in nursery COMPLETE
7. Attach buttons to new headboard- COMPLETE
8. Organize craft closet (holy cow)
9. Find a maternity/newborn photographer
10. Help my sister with the baby shower decorations
11. Get a flu shot (sad face)
12. Prepare binder for hospital/insurance/baby paperwork
13. Find fabric for nursery curtains
14. Order rug for nursery
15. Finish trim work in master bathroom
16. Change out flower box to mums
17. Call painters to finish painting master bathroom
18. Order “wedding” photos
19. Find curtain rod for nursery
20. Order/make thank you notes
21. Write thank you notes for gifts received
22. Find dresser for nursery (paint if necessary)
23. Paint blue table in gray room
24. Purchase post-partum recovery items
25. Organize the pantry (yikes)
26. Pre-register at hospital
27. Register for birthing class and breastfeeding class (oh boy)
28. Find a dress for baby shower
29. Make name banner for nursery
30. Make keepsake card ring for baby cards (a la Pinterest)
31. Hang curtains in “gray” room
32. Pick up and assemble crib COMPLETE
33. Order nursery bedding COMPLETE
34. Relax in a warm bubble bath and revel in all your productivity for the month

One Response to “Day 8”

  1. 1947pam October 9, 2012 at 8:13 PM #

    Don’t forget to record the heartbeat for me tomorrow. Will text n case you are in bed

    Have a BLESSED Day Pam

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

