Days 9 & 10

11 Oct

I didn’t accomplish a whole lot, but I am getting to mark two things off the list! We finished the trim in the master bathroom and I got my flu shot. The actual shot didn’t hurt much, but my arm was super sore all night and today. I’m a shot wimp. Today I have to call the painters to schedule time for them to come finish up the paint in the master bath (and then I can mark it off
the list). Once that is done and the tile work in the laundry room is complete this weekend, we will be DONE with the renovation (I think). Hooray for us. I can’t believe it has taken as long as it has, but I really slacked off once the first trimester sickness set in (and then I started to work).

In baby news, I had my regular appointment yesterday. The dreaded orange sugar-filled drink was not bad at all. It tasted very similar to orange Gatorade or orange Crush. The more I drank of it, the harder it was to get down. I was dying for some water afterwards but it was not allowed. During my appointment my doctor decided she would order an ultrasound of my right side and some additional blood work to make sure that there was nothing out of the ordinary causing the at times unbearable pain. Additionally, my fundal height (distance from the top of the pubic bone to the top of the uterus) was measuring at 30 weeks instead of 26. That is outside of the standard range (2 weeks up or down) so she ordered a growth scan ultrasound to check on the size of the baby. I left the appointment with heightened concerned. Luckily I was able to get in for my ultrasounds this morning so that I wouldn’t have to stress out for too long. I was so overwhelmed by the shot, blood draw, sugary drink, and stress that I only went back to work for an hour and a half. My head was pounding and I was so sleepy (sugar crash I guess), so I went home and got in bed with the girls and slept until Jason got home at 6:30. It was a much needed rest. I got to sleep in a little this morning too so that was nice.

According to the ultrasound tech (I have not heard from the doctor’s office yet), Liam is looking good. He is measuring a week ahead on all of his measurements (except his head which is 2 weeks ahead!) and is above average on weight (he is weighing 2 lbs 6 ozs). I have plenty of fluid, but not excess fluid, so that is good too. She also didn’t see anything unusual with my liver, gallbladder, or kidneys so that is more good news. Hopefully the doctor will confirm that all is well. On the bright side, we got a couple new pics of our little (big) man. He was all scrunched up behind my right hip, so they had a really hard time seeing his face (despite trying everything they could to jiggle him around to a new position). Oh, they also confirmed that he is DEFINITELY a BOY! We don’t have to worry about painting the nursery the wrong color! We didn’t see “boy” parts since we opted to open an envelope at home, so it was good to see the proof!

Here is a couple face shots of the sweet baby. He has his finger under his nose in one shot.


And there is also a foot- I love that tiny foot!

1. Paintings for Family Room (1 down, 2 to go)
2. Find Pediatrician (avoid OBGYN bad list for not doing my homework) COMPLETE
3. Decorate house for fall COMPLETE
4. Work on baby registry -COMPLETE
5. Call tile guy to tile laundry room counter- COMPLETE
6. Work on board and batten in nursery COMPLETE
7. Attach buttons to new headboard- COMPLETE
8. Organize craft closet (holy cow)
9. Find a maternity/newborn photographer
10. Help my sister with the baby shower decorations
11. Get a flu shot (sad face) COMPLETE
12. Prepare binder for hospital/insurance/baby paperwork
13. Find fabric for nursery curtains
14. Order rug for nursery
15. Finish trim work in master bathroom COMPLETE
16. Change out flower box to mums
17. Call painters to finish painting master bathroom
18. Order “wedding” photos
19. Find curtain rod for nursery
20. Order/make thank you notes
21. Write thank you notes for gifts received
22. Find dresser for nursery (paint if necessary)
23. Paint blue table in gray room
24. Purchase post-partum recovery items
25. Organize the pantry (yikes)
26. Pre-register at hospital
27. Register for birthing class and breastfeeding class (oh boy)
28. Find a dress for baby shower
29. Make name banner for nursery
30. Make keepsake card ring for baby cards (a la Pinterest)
31. Hang curtains in “gray” room
32. Pick up and assemble crib COMPLETE
33. Order nursery bedding COMPLETE
34. Relax in a warm bubble bath and revel in all your productivity for the month

Leave a Reply

