Day 18

19 Oct

I cannot tell you how much I am loving the colorful foliage of Nashville right now! It is beautiful. The Nashville area does not have a lot of evergreens, almost all leafy trees, so there is so much color right now. I’m trying my best to take it all in each time I’m outside because I know it will be gone all too soon (lots and lots of leaves are already on the ground).

Yesterday we got the gray curtains hung up in the guest room. We “installed” some closet organizers in Liam’s closet (they are really the kind you hang on the rod, but Jason nailed them into the closet so they don’t stick out as far or take up as much floor space). It actually worked out really well. The cubbies will be a great place for blankets, toys, shoes, etc. We still have the whole other side of the closet, upper and lower, for hanging clothes. One of the things I love most about our house is the closets. Every bedroom has large walk-in closets and we have 6 additional storage closets (2 down and 4 up)! I love having lots of indoor storage room (especially since we only have a 2 car garage).

I went to Target at lunch yesterday and began purchasing post-partum recovery items for myself. I plan to keep them all in the sack with the receipt because I won’t need some of it if I end up having a c-section. So far I purchased giant maxi pads (I hear you can get these at the hospital, but I wanted to have extra in case), tucks pad, preparation H, and witch hazel. I also got a robe to wear in the hospital as it will probably be chilly considering it will be winter. I still need to get some slippers (Target didn’t have any that I liked) and socks to keep my tootsies warm and clean after the baby is born (these will go in the trash when we get home, so something cheap will do). I also need to get a couple things to wear while I’m in the hospital, I just don’t know what I want to wear yet. I know it is really early to be getting this stuff, but I won’t have to worry about later when I’m more concerned about Christmas and such. I think I’ll leave this on the list until I’m completely finished with it. If you have any suggested items I will need or that you found helpful, please let me know!

Even though we got a couple 3D ultrasound pictures, we are thinking about doing a 3D/4D ultrasound. We were already planning to do it because we weren’t expecting the “surprise” ultrasound. Plus, he was so curled up with his hands and feet in front of his face that the tech had to crop a lot of stuff which distorted the photos. I know it isn’t something we really need, but it is so fun to get to peek at him! The ultrasound place said that it is best to do it between 28-32 weeks, so we have a couple more weeks to decide if we should do it. I was reading on some pregnancy message boards and it seems to be about 50/50 on whether the baby actually looked like its 3D ultrasound when it was born.

Oh, the last thing I was going to talk about was the pediatrician consultation. It went very well. At the end of the appointment he asked us both what we did. I told him I was an attorney and he said “I should have known you were an attorney with all those questions you had.” HA! Jason, true to style, didn’t ask any questions or say anything for that matter except when specifically asked, but he showed up on time (early actually), so that made me happy (considering he “forgot” about my last OB appointment (the one where I got lots of unsettling news)). The doctor was really nice and I liked his responses to almost all of my questions. Our other consultation isn’t until late November. Oh, I chose two male pediatricians to interview. I heard that since Liam is a boy, he may be more comfortable with a male pediatrician as he gets older (which made sense to me….there is a reason I only go to female OBGYNs).

This was a super exciting blog post, I know. Maxi pads, ultra sounds and doctor appointments, what could be better. Actually, I think it is all thrilling, of course I’m the one having the baby!

1. Paintings for Family Room (1 down, 2 to go)
2. Find Pediatrician (avoid OBGYN bad list for not doing my homework) COMPLETE
3. Decorate house for fall COMPLETE
4. Work on baby registry -COMPLETE
5. Call tile guy to tile laundry room counter- COMPLETE
6. Work on board and batten in nursery COMPLETE
7. Attach buttons to new headboard- COMPLETE
8. Organize craft closet (holy cow) COMPLETE
9. Find a maternity/newborn photographer
10. Help my sister with the baby shower decorations
11. Get a flu shot (sad face) COMPLETE
12. Prepare binder for hospital/insurance/baby paperwork
13. Find fabric for nursery curtains
14. Order rug for nursery
15. Finish trim work in master bathroom COMPLETE
16. Change out flower box to mums
17. Call painters to finish painting master bathroom COMPLETE
18. Order “wedding” photos
19. Find curtain rod for nursery
20. Order/make thank you notes
21. Write thank you notes for gifts received
22. Find dresser for nursery (paint if necessary)
23. Paint blue table in gray room
24. Purchase post-partum recovery items (PARTIALLY COMPLETE)
25. Organize the pantry (yikes)
26. Pre-register at hospital COMPLETE
27. Register for birthing class and breastfeeding class (oh boy) COMPLETE
28. Find a dress for baby shower
29. Make name banner for nursery
30. Make keepsake card ring for baby cards (a la Pinterest) COMPLETE
31. Hang curtains in “gray” room COMPLETE
32. Pick up and assemble crib COMPLETE
33. Order nursery bedding COMPLETE
34. Relax in a warm bubble bath and revel in all your productivity for the month

Leave a Reply

