Nursery Update

6 Nov

Well, I mentioned last week that I wasn’t happy with the progress on our nursery. We were making so much headway and now we are stalled. I feel like I’ve lost my vision and that things are not going to come together. Maybe if I make of list of where we are and what we need to do, I’ll feel better.

What we have completed:
Board and batten
Crib
Glider (arriving this afternoon!!)
Photo frames
Baskets

What is in progress:
Bedding
Dressers
Wagon

What we need:
Rug
Curtains
Accessories

So far, we have a ton of gray. Gray upper walls, gray glider, and soon to be two gray dressers (thankfully one brown crib). Once we get everything in and decide on a bedding set, we may paint the upper walls blue (instead of the gray- we had it painted gray when we moved in and set up the guest room). As far as the rug goes, my favorite rug that I was planning to get is on back order until March 2013! Just my luck. Boo. Hiss. Ugh. Need to re-group on that front. I have no idea what to do for curtains yet. I still have the curtains with the valance in my head, but I’d also like to add some pattern to the room. I just don’t know what I want! Oh the dilemma (HA). I’m scared we are creating a prison cell with all this gray. I wanted calming, not concrete. Hopefully, when we get all the blue touches in (a mostly blue rug and blue curtains), the brown wood frames, and the wicker baskets up, it will really give the room some life. Fingers crossed!

My goal was to be completely finished by Thanksgiving. I highly doubt that is going to happen at this point unless I start making some decisions ASAP. The bedding should be in next week (so they tell me….of course they have said that twice now for previous dates). We will get the dressers finished up next week (hopefully) and that will take care of all the big furniture pieces. If the bedding doesn’t work out, I’m going to be super disappointed and at a loss for what to try next.

On the topic of bedding, I just have to point out how disappointed I am with Restoration Hardware Baby and Child. We have ordered from Restoration Hardware a couple of times for our own bedroom and have been very satisfied with the timeliness of the orders. Unfortunately that has not been the case with the crib bedding. For such a large company, they definitely have a lot of room for improvement when it comes to customer service. In addition to the late shipping without any notification of delay, they do not have order tracking and it takes 2 weeks for your credit card to be credited for returns. I hope they get their act together soon. They make wonderful products, but they also make it quite difficult to do business with them.

I’ll post a pic of the new glider tomorrow. I am nervous about it! I sure hope that we like it and that it is comfy!

One Response to “Nursery Update”

  1. Rachel Brewer November 6, 2012 at 2:04 PM #

    So I just have to say that I agree with you 110% about RH B&C!!! I ordered fabric swatches from them for Archer’s bedding the day I found out he was a boy, and I still haven’t gotten one of them! I just had to chance it and order the bumper sight unseen! And the quilt I want for him is backordered until spring of next year! I thought that might be a good Christmas present for him. Oh well!

Leave a Reply

