No nursery news

28 Nov

My oh my am I tired!! I am seriously kicking myself for not getting more things done for the nursery by this point in my pregnancy so that we could focus on Christmas! So much to do, so little time (and such achy feet)! I did some more Liam laundry last night to get the clothes we received at our shower ready to go. Then I accidentally washed our clothes in baby detergent. Oops. I laid out some of the outfits that are “under consideration” to take to the hospital. Wow- it is crazy to think that I am laying out hospital clothes to put on my newborn baby!!!! I realized this weekend that I love the baby clothes so much because it is just like being a little girl playing with my doll clothes!

As for the nursery, I did order the rug last week! It should be here next week. I sure hope we like it! I thought I was getting it 20% off, but of course I missed the fine print that said this particular brand was excluded from the sale. Boo. I think I have decided what I want for the curtains, but I am going to have to do a little DIY. The style I want does not come in the color I want of course. So I think I’m going to get the solid curtains and valance and then add the banding that I want. The only other major item that needs to be done is the crib skirt. I’m going to look for fabric this weekend and just make it myself. At least I can do that sitting down…if I can remember how to use my sewing machine that is. The dresser is primed and ready for paint. We are going to work on it this week. I’m kind of wishing we had a bookshelf for his room, if for no other reason than to put adorable things on it! This decorating thing would be a lot easier if I wasn’t so indecisive.

I have had a couple people tell me recently that my blog makes them scared to have a baby. I hate to hear that, but I am determined to be upfront and honest about MY experience with pregnancy (note the key word here being MY). Every woman will have their own unique experience, some of will be similar to mine and some will be completely different. So far, I’ve had a pretty routine, textbook pregnancy (and we hope it stays that way!). My complaints are nothing unusual and are felt by the majority of people who get pregnancy. Of course, there are women who have a much more difficult time…. and there are a few fortunate women who find pregnancy to be a breeze (these are far and few between from what I can tell)! I’m elated to be right in the middle experiencing all the common symptoms. Just remember, most people have more than 1 baby, so it can’t be THAT bad right (at least that is what I always told myself…I’ll confirm or deny after delivery)?!

Leave a Reply

