34 week 5 days ultrasound

7 Dec

Well, another whirlwind week is coming to an end. I’ll be 35 weeks tomorrow, which means Liam’s arrival is getting scarily close!

We had our ultrasound yesterday. I have not heard from my doctor yet about the ultrasound, so I don’t know if everything looked good or not. Hopefully she will give me a call today. My lab works all came back normal (which was expected…she just wanted to get a baseline for the future). It looked to me that most of his measurements were around 37 weeks. He is estimated to weigh 6lbs 3 ozs already. According to the app on my phone, he should weigh about 5.5, so he is a little chunky monkey (all those monkey outfits we have are very appropriate). He is the most adorable chubby cheeks you have ever seen (at least on the ultrasound), a double chin, and pouty lips. Seeing his little face melted our hearts. When she first turned on the machine, she showed us his belly moving up and down and said he was practicing breathing. Then, he got the hiccups and you could see his mouth opening with each hiccup (just like we do when we have the hiccups). It was unbelievable that we could see all of that. He was moving around so much (hiccups aggravate him) so they had a hard time getting good pictures. At one point his hand was on his forehead like he was going “oh these hiccups are so terrible, what am I to do.” Then he put his fist in his mouth. We could see his lips moving as he was sucking on his hand. I think he was trying to do tricks for his Daddy and show him he could put his whole hand in his mouth. We only got one straight on picture without a hand and it is a little blurry, but you can see how puffy his cheeks are in it. Some people said he looks like a little old man. So, here he is….our little chunky monkey man!


I cannot stop looking at his pictures. I just think he is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen (yes, I’ve already got that “my kid is the cutest” syndrome). My sister thinks he looks just like me. It definitely looks like he has my nose. I am not sure about the eyes since they don’t show up real well. I told Jason I thought they looked like his eyes, but then realized I don’t know what my own eyes look like closed so maybe they look like mine too. He looked pretty bald to me….need to stock up on hats! I cannot wait to meet him, see his face, and kiss those cheeks! I was feeling really stressed and overwhelmed yesterday with having to talk to my bosses and about the ultrasound, but as soon as I saw his face, I felt so much better. For the first time, I felt really excited and anxious about meeting him. Before now, I’ve honestly been very scared of figuring out how to take care of a baby and worried about coping with all the change. I’m still nervous, but there is a lot more excitement mixed in too now. I know that no matter what, Jason and I will figure it out together.

I am wearing my compression hose for the first time today. Let me tell you, they were quite fun to put on with this giant belly! Thankfully Jason had already left for work so only the dogs had to witness those shenanigans! All I can say is thank goodness it is not summer because I don’t know how anyone could wear these in the heat! I put leggings on top so that I wouldn’t feel so bulky (like it would be under jeans). I’m sweating just sitting in my office (probably a combination of the hose and my UGGs). But, if they keep the swelling down and I’m able to walk somewhat comfortably, it might be worth it!

Miley and Maddy are so curious about Liam’s toys. We have some of his stuffed toys in his wagon, and they have been checking them out every time they get a chance. Yesterday afternoon I couldn’t find Maddy, so I went searching for her and found her in the nursery, in the dark, with all of Liam’s stuffed animals sprawled around her! She’s a sneaky one. I know if she is quiet and not up under me, then she is up to something. I found her up there again this morning with his little rattle. I’m not one to be worried about doggie germs because it is inevitable that they will be licking him in the face and getting his toys all the time. It is a losing battle to worry much over that! They know something is up with the nursery because we have been spending so much time in there and we used to never go in that room. They keep bringing their toys in there too. We’ve got quite a pile of them outside his room now (I keep moving them out to try different rugs out and such). Both girls like to sit with me in the glider, but there isn’t much room for both of them in there. I should have gotten the double wide version! LOL. Maddy likes to put her paws on my belly and scratch. It is really cute (as long as her nails are short).

Our bedding and curtains shipped out today, so hopefully it will be here early next week! I’m anxious to see if it will work!! If not, I need to get on the ball making some things!

2 Responses to “34 week 5 days ultrasound”

  1. Stacy December 7, 2012 at 8:33 AM #

    I’m sooooo excited!! He is adorable and precious. Hang in there with your hose. I know they will help. Love you.

  2. Vivian December 10, 2012 at 7:55 PM #

    Awww! These are precious pics! Isn’t amazing the detail you can see? Our OB has the machine so we don’t think we’ll go pay to get a private 4D scan – every time we get an u/s baby girl is hiding her face too. P.S. What app are you using that tells you his approximate weight? Or is it just weight in general by the weeks?

    P.S. This is “Shopaholic” from HB. :)

Leave a Reply

