Week 34

10 Dec

Week 34 was another difficult week. I have a feeling I will be saying that from here on out. I’m so uncomfortable and hurting somewhere all the time (back, hips, feet, head, etc.). I told Jason this morning that I need a week vacation from pregnancy before the baby comes….a week in my old, pain free body to rest and be able to move and breathe freely. Ah, a girl can dream. We went to the breastfeeding class at the hospital on Friday night. I haven’t really talked much about my feelings on the matter, but let’s just say that I cried in class….and they weren’t happy tears. I am hoping that when I see my own baby, I feel better about the whole thing.


Baby Size: Since we had an ultrasound during week 34, we know that Liam is estimated to weigh 6lbs 3 ozs! He is in the 65th percentile for weight. I don’t know about length.

Weight Gain: 29 lbs. I lost a pound in the last two weeks. Maybe that will help me keep under the 35 lb threshold by the time I deliver.

Sleep: My sleep is going downhill quickly. I can’t get comfortable anymore and my left hip is aching all night long.

Maternity Clothes: Nothing new to report here. They are all getting snug and I’m hoping I have something left to wear for Christmas.

Wedding Rings: I wore my engagement ring on Friday night and I almost couldn’t get it off my finger. My rings are officially retired for now.

Aversions/Cravings: No aversions. I’ve had a couple of milkshake cravings lately- chick-fil-a milkshake specifically. Otherwise, I haven’t really been all that hungry lately. We had cereal for dinner several nights because that was all that sounded good.

Symptoms: Back ache, Braxton hicks contractions, sore hip joints, swelling feet, ankles and hands, headaches, popping joints, horrible heartburn (now requiring Pepcid again), and exhaustion.

Doctor Appointments: I had a doctor appointment during week 34. There were some odd things going on, but all my labs and ultrasound came back normal thankfully. My doctor wants to repeat the ultrasound in two weeks (to keep an eye on his size and my water levels I guess….not really sure). My next appointment is on the 19th. After this one, I go every week. I think I will have the Step B test and maybe my first internal, but I could be wrong.

What I Miss: Being able to move freely, shop for longer than an hour without my feet looking like gumbie, etc. Just being comfortable in my own body.

What I am Looking Forward to: Christmas is just around the corner and all of my family will arrive on the 22nd! I am sure I’m going to be TONS of fun since I can barely move, but I’ve got lots planned for us to do. Jason is going out of town on Wed and Thursday this week for work, so my Mom is coming to stay with me. He didn’t feel comfortable leaving me alone (eye roll), but it will be nice to have my Mom here.

Leave a Reply

