Week 38!

9 Jan

Well, I’m still here (39 weeks and 3 days) and baby Liam is still hanging tight in my tummy. I’m honestly shocked that I’m still pregnant and truly don’t know how much longer I can make it. I know that he will be here soon enough, but I feel that my body is at its breaking point. I’ve begun some natural induction practices this week to hopefully help with the labor process. I can’t tell that they are helping yet, but I haven’t been very consistent. I’m bouncing on a birthing (exercise) ball, eating pineapple, and taking evening primrose oil (in addition to other unmentionables). Since he is big, there is a slight concern on whether he will be able to drop into my pelvis, so the ball bouncing is intended to help that. We will see.

We have everything ready, at least that we can think of. Liam’s bag and the car seat are in the car (Liam is using a Lululemon bag…very posh of him). Below is a photo of his hospital outfits. We only purchased one outfit (the navy outfit that was wrapped to tell us we were having a boy) the rest
were gifts that we selected to pack (all newborn sizes). I have my bag packed with everything I’m not currently using (and a list on top for what still needs to be packed). Jason’s bag is still folded up in the closet waiting…we assume he will have plenty of time to pack when we are in early labor (and if not, we only live 10 minutes from the hospital so he can come back and get stuff later). The pack-n-play is set up in our room and the rock-n-play is ready to go. His clothes are washed (twice actually) and in there spot. The sheets are clean and layered on the crib. The cameras are charged and the SD cards are clean for lots and lots of pictures of our sweet baby. The newborn photographer is booked.


Now, we just wait. Wait on Liam and my body to decide when the time is just right. I’m not very good at waiting or surprises, so this is a tough process for me. I’m a planner with a plan A, B and usually C. Labor and delivery doesn’t lend itself to planning unfortunately. I actually decided not to do a birth plan. I know that so many times no matter what our plan is, delivery is unpredictable. I was afraid that if I went in with a plan and things went awry, it would stress me out even more. The hospital where we are delivering already strongly encourages the things I can control that would have on my birth plan anyway, so I feel comfortable with those things.

Breastfeeding has been a serious point of my concern throughout the pregnancy. I have felt everything from fear to disgust regarding the idea, yet I continued to read, study and take classes on the topic. I deeply hoped that when the time came, I would feel a desire to breastfeed and not just do it because I thought I should. I am so thankful that I feel much much better about it and actually look forward to nursing my baby for the first time. Jason’s support of it has been a huge part of the reason that I am more comfortable with it. I know that just having a desire to be able to nurse does not mean that nursing will be easier or even successful, but it is a great advancement for me.

So, here is the week 38 recap.


Baby Size: Estimated to weigh 8 lbs as of last Friday!

Weight Gain: Right about 40 lbs. I cannot believe that I have gained that much weight. My doctor says it is due to my swelling and not to stress, so that is what I’m doing. I’m not looking forward to seeing the aftermath of the pregnancy.

Sleep: Some nights I sleep ok, others are pretty rough. My belly is so heavy and my hips ache leaving me unable to get comfortable. I am up at least 4 times a night to potty. I’m feeling more and more anxious so some nights I can’t turn off my mind. Thankfully I am able to take a couple naps during the day to help me feel more rested.

Maternity Clothes: Yes and I am wearing the same thing over and over because I just want to be comfortable at this point.

Wedding Rings: Still off. Speaking of hands, the carpal tunnel has spread to my left hand now so I have a lot of numb fingers. I hope I don’t drop the baby like I do everything else.

Aversions/Cravings: Loving anything cold and tart! I had a major craving for frozen yogurt with berries and tricked Jason into taking me out to get some. Mostly wanting healthy, fresh things like fruit and salads. I’ve been downing juice like a mad person. It was OJ, but now it is grape juice. I’ve moved on to diet cran-grape because I was going through the regular grape juice too fast. And water, especially in the evenings. I’m so so thirsty and drink tons of water at night.

Symptoms: Severe back and hip pain that leaves me unable to stay in one position long, yet makes it difficult to change positions. My hips must won’t work when I go from sitting to standing and I’ve almost fallen a few times because of my hips not working. I feel awful for people with arthritis in the hips because I imagine it feels much like this. I still have heartburn nightly and am taking Pepcid nearly every afternoon. I’ve lost feeling in 8 fingers. I’m still able to use them, they just feel numb and tingly (and I drop stuff constantly). My feet and ankles are still swelling pretty seriously.

Doctor Appointments: At my doc appt on Friday, I had not progressed again. Still 1 cm and 50% effaced (since week 36), which is why I am trying some of the natural labor induction methods. They did an ultrasound and the baby looked good. He is measuring in the 75th percentile for weight and most everything else. He appears to have big chubby cheeks and a cute button nose. He was moving his lips in and out (kind of sucking on his lower lip) and it was just precious. Seeing him up on that screen made me even more anxious to get him here! I have another appointment this Friday.


What I miss: Not being in constant pain.

Best Moment of the Week: Seeing baby at the ultrasound

What I am Looking Forward To: Meeting baby Liam of course!!!!

Leave a Reply

