Liam- Weeks 1 and 2

5 Feb

Liam’s first two weeks have been marvelous.  We spent Day 1-3 in the hospital.  My parents, my sister, and Jason parents all visited us there.  We also had some dear friends visit on Sunday.  We met with several lactation consultants while we were there and things were overall going well.

Liam spent most of the first week eating and sleeping.  He enjoyed sleeping in his auntie’s arms, his rock-n-play, his swing, and his crib.  Monday night, our first night home, was pretty awful.  My milk had not come in yet and Liam was absolutely starving.  He screamed for 5 hours straight in his Dad’s arms.  Jason and I tried everything and nothing would work.   Finally, I suggested that we give him some formula.  He drank an ounce and passed out.  I called the doctor the next day and he agreed that I did that  right thing and said to continue supplementing that day.  He went to his first pediatrician appointment on Wednesday January 24.  His weight was down to 8lbs 8ozs and he was 20 5/8 inches long.  We met with another lactation consultant at our doctor’s office and worked on a feeding plan to satisfy Liam until my milk came in.  We only had to supplement with formula for a day and a half and since then, he hasn’t needed anything but Mom’s milk. His also battling clogged tear ducts in both eyes, which is very common.  After the doctor appointment, Liam had his first photoshoot at a really cool studio downtown.  He slept the entire time and was such a good baby!  

 The rest of the week went well.  He went to bed around 10-10:30 and woke up around 1:00 am, 3:00 am, 6:00am,  and 9:00 am.  Jason and I worked through each feeding together.  Our days were spent cuddling, changing a million diapers, feeding, and sleeping.  The time went by so fast.  Stacy went grocery shopping for us and picked up a few meals.  We also had several friends bring dinner over and it was so wonderful!  We are truly blessed with some incredible friends.  We made a few Target trips to get things like diapers (the newborn diapers we had were too small) and more nursing bras and PJs for me.  Liam stayed in the car and slept.  He really likes riding in the car and it puts him to sleep every time.  I hope he keeps that up for our trips to Arkansas.  We went back to the pediatrician on Monday and he was almost back to his birth weight!  He weighed 9lb, 4ozs and was 20 3/4 inches long!  The doctor said everything looked great and we don’t go back until 8 weeks.

Sleeping: At the end of Week 1 and beginning of Week 2, we started trying to get Liam on a schedule.  I am using a mix of Babywise and Mom’s on Call.  I am basically on a 3 hour routine of feed, play, sleep during the day.  He is now sleeping 4 hour stretches at night.  We put him to bed at 10:30, he wakes up around 2:30, and then again around 7:00.  It has been really great.  We swaddle him for most naps and at night.  He loves to be swaddled I think.  We are also using white noise for naps in the crib and at night. 

Activity:  Liam was so much more alert during the second week.  He started making eye contact and noticing his surroundings.  He loves to stare at the photos on the wall, the windows, the corner….basically whatever is in front of him.  You can tell he is really studying things.  I am starting to learn his patterns and what his faces mean.  Typically he only cries when he is hungry or needs a diaper change.  He gets a little whiny when he is ready for a nap too.  He smiles all the time and it melts my heart, especially when I am rocking him and he looks at me and smiles!  He is starting to squeal a little when he is “playing.”  He was really hating his baths and makes the meanest face when we set him in front of the heater to get ready (it is hilarious), but he is getting used to them I now I think. 

Looks: I’ve posted about 4000 pictures on Facebook and Instagram, so I’m not going to post any in this post right now because it takes too long.  He is growing and changing faster than I can stand.  He wore mostly newborn clothes during his first and second week. FYI Gap Baby clothing runs really big.  He looks so much like Jason.  I don’t think he got a single thing from me.  I keep wondering if he is really my kid since I didn’t see him come out of me!  His hair is starting to get longer too and it is light brown with a hint of red I think.  His eyes are getting lighter blue every day. 

Baby Gear:  We could not have survived the first two weeks without the following items:  Rock-n-play, Snugamonkey Swing, Chicco Pack-n-play with changing pad and bassinet (that vibrates), pack-n-play sheets (I recommend getting several and a protective cover because we have already stained the pad up really bad), Halo sleepsacks with velcro for easy swaddling (worth every penny), Boppy and at least 2 covers, glider/rocker, tons of wipes and diapers, and tons of burp cloths.

Mom Gear:  I have been living in pajama sets with button up tops and Basics nursing tanks from Target (much to Jason’s dismay… but when you are basically wearing a diaper and have a big incision, pajama pants are they only thing that works).  The tanks are wonderful because they are affordable, fit snug on your belly (which helps hold in that loose skin) and are very supportive on top.  I am also using Dreft spray like it is going out of style.  Liam gets breastmilk pretty much everywhere while he feeds and it leaves stains.  We have also had some blowouts on clothes and blankets and the Dreft spray gets the bright yellow poop right out thankfully (when washed without the spray, it didn’t come out)!  I highly recommend it!

One Response to “Liam- Weeks 1 and 2”

  1. Dan Saunders February 5, 2013 at 4:18 PM #

    It is so neet, and so awesome to see it throw someones eyes, You are a great mom. knew that you would be, also so proud of you two. GOD Bless

Leave a Reply

