Inspired by my Uncle Donald

29 Apr

Last week my Uncle Donald passed away after a long and painful battle with cancer.  His loss is devastating for all of our family.  He was such a brilliantly talented man who added so much to our family. He will be forever missed by all of us, but especially by my Aunt Alice Faye, his wife of almost 52 years. 

I am writing about Uncle Donald today because he has inspired me.  In 2005 my Aunt retired (my Uncle was already retired) and they took to the road as full time RV roadies.  Over the last 7 years they traveled the US, Mexico and Canada.  My Uncle photographed and blogged about all of their travels so that his family and friends could keep up with them.  His detailed accounts and hundreds of photos are documents that will live on forever. It is an insight into his life, heart and soul.  It will no doubt be read over hundreds of time by my sweet Aunt as she fondly reminisces about all of their wonderful journeys together. His grandchildren and great grandchildren will be able to better know the man their grandfather was because of his journals.  It is such a special gift from him to all of us. It brings comfort during this difficult time to read through his blog and feel as if he is telling these stories to me in my living room and to know how much he enjoyed his life.  They lived life to the fullest every day. 

In light of that, I have been inspired to continue blogging (and to blog more often) so that my children, grandchildren, and great children will have a way to see into my life, heart and soul, just as we can with my Uncle. And I want to have an account of my life to look back on when I’m old and the details are fuzzy.  I want Liam to be able to read just how much his Mom loves him. 

So, even if it means the laundry doesn’t get folded, I’m going to try to take a few minutes of my day to talk about what we have been up to and what is on my mind, as mundane as it may be.  Years from now, I am sure it won’t seem nearly as mundane. 

Thank you Uncle Donald for inspiring me yet again!  I love you and miss you so very much. 

2 Responses to “Inspired by my Uncle Donald”

  1. Stacy April 29, 2013 at 12:04 PM #

    Beautifully said, Kristin.

  2. Mrs. Marla April 29, 2013 at 7:24 PM #

    Yes, he was a great man. I must agree with Stacy, beautifully said. Thank you for sharing your life with me…..Love you.

Leave a Reply

