Liam- 4 month update

28 May

This is a wee bit late due to our trip to LA to visit Auntie, Uncle Droid and Bella. Liam turned 4 months old while we were in Cali!

Liam is such a happy, easy-going baby and we love him to pieces! I would describe him at 4 months as happy, funny, silly, inquisitive, outgoing, laid back, determined, and independent.  He has the biggest grin that covers his whole face! This last month seems to have passed a little slower than the previous three thankfully! I think his schedule with only 5 feedings per day has really helped slow things down a little. I feel like we have a lot more time now for playing, getting out of the house, and chores (unfortunately for me).

Weight:  Liam had his 4 month check-up on the 13th and he weighed 15lbs 12 ozs and was 26″ long!  He gained over a pound in the last month. He has grown so much in such a short time!  He isn’t really a chubby baby, more long and stout.

Temperament:  He is still a happy, happy baby.  He loves to smile at people (I think he loves the attention he gets from others and smiling gets him more attention).  He almost never cries (except sometimes when he is by himself in the back seat or when he got his shots), but does whine when he is getting tired or his gums are hurting. He started laughing this month and laughs more and more every day (especially when he is playing with Daddy).  He is very independent already.  He wants to bring his bottle to his mouth and hold it by himself (when he gets one) and hold his own toys.  He gets aggravated when he can’t get toys in his mouth just the right way, but doesn’t want me to help him.  He still doesn’t have a need to be held and often tries to squirm away if he is in our arms.

Activity:  Liam has learned to roll over!  At the beginning of the month he rolled over on the bed for the first time.  He rolled from back to belly and then back to his back.  Then later that day he rolled from belly to back on the floor.  Then he went about a week before he did it again.  He doesn’t do it all the time, but when he does do it, it is always in multiples.  He hasn’t rolled from back to belly on the floor yet, but gets really close all the time.  Liam loves tummy time now.  He can push all the way up to straight arms.  He can look at books and play with toys.  He can probably be happy on his tummy for 15-20 minutes.  This month Liam also learned how to grab his feet and put his feet in his mouth (where they have resided since that day).  He is just obsessed with his feet!  It is so cute, but gets a little frustrating during diaper changes! He also chews on his hands (and anyone’s hand he can get to his mouth) all the time.  Teething is hard on a baby!  Early in the month he learned a strange, loud yelling sound.  It didn’t hang around long so I’m glad I got it on video.  It was pretty darn funny.  He also learned a tongue clicking sound that he did for about a week (also got it on video)!  He loves to blow bubbles and spit and makes all kinds of bubbly, spity noises.  He hasn’t been cooing and “ah-googing” as much this month since he has been busy exploring what other sounds he can make with his mouth.  I am amazed at how much his motor skills have developed over the last month in regards to grabbing and playing with toys.  He can pretty much do whatever he wants with his toys now.  He loves his baseball mit taggie blanket so much.  He likes to chew on it and snuggle with it while he is napping in the car seat.  He likes toys that crinkle like his fluffy chick book and he likes his red obi ball football.  Oh! And Liam really started noticing the girls this month!  He is reaching out for them, grabbing their beards, opening his hand for them to lick, and opening his mouth if they get to his face for kisses!  Maddy loves him and is usually close by.  Miley, well she is still a Daddy’s girl.  She usually stays a safe distance away from him, but every now and then will come up and give him kisses.

Sleep:  This month Liam slept from 9:30pm until 7:30 am consistently.  We are truly blessed!  He takes a 2-2.5 hour nap at 9am, a 1.5-2 hour nap at 1:00 pm, an 1.5 hour nap at 4:30, and a cat nap for about an hour to 1.5 hours at 7:30pm and then we do bath, feeding and bedtime.

Diet:  This month his diet consisted of 100% breast milk.  I am still having problems with clogged ducts and recurrent mastitis, but I am trying my best to push through it.  Right now my goal is to make it to 6 months (I would love to do it the whole year, but I don’t know if I will be able to if I keep getting mastitis).  I do believe that breastmilk is best for him and he is doing so well with it, so I am going to do everything I can to make it as long as possible. We are going to be introducing solid foods next month on the pediatrician’s advice (and the two books that have been my baby bibles), which should be fun!

Outings:  At this point, we got out and about all the time.  We can do just about anything we used to do except the movies.  The hardest thing for me to do with him by myself is grocery shopping because his car seat doesn’t fit well in the upper part and takes up too much room in the cart.  We spend a lot of time at Target and the mall.  During the week I try to keep our outings within the schedule, but we are more flexible on the weekends.  We got out to eat at least once a week and he is almost always content (and often sleeping).  When I think back to the early days, I remember how difficult it was to go anywhere and I can’t believe how far we have come!  Thank goodness!  Liam decided he doesn’t like being in the backseat by himself so that has made car rides a bit torturous at times when it is just the two of us, but it does seem to be improving the more we got out.  He also had his first plane ride at the end of the month!  He was incredible.  He slept most of the time and enjoyed looking around at all the people while he was awake.  we made candy bags with ear plugs for the passengers around us, but he didn’t make a peep other than some spit bubbles and a few coos.  I will do a separate post all about our trip.

Clothes:  He wore 3-6 months clothes (and a few 6-12 month onesies and shorts) and 6 month sleepers.  He has a few things that are 9 months that he wears as well (Polo runs small apparently).  He is starting to move up to 9 months sleepers too.

Postpartum:  I am fully recovered from the c-section at this point.  My stomach muscles feel normal again and the feeling has almost completely returned to my scar area.  I still have my linea negra, but it is fading away slowly (the doc said it would be gone around 6 months).  I am 2 lbs away from my pre-pregnancy weight, but my body looks really different.  I am thicker in the middle (waist and hips) than I have ever been, so that makes most of my old tops and pants too tight.  This made me do a big closet clean-out though so that was a bonus!  I am adding new pieces that fit to my wardrobe, but trying to find inexpensive things since I plan to get back into my old shape (or better!) at some point after I’m finished nursing.  I am scared to exercise or diet too much due to milk supply.  Exercising consists of walking at this point.  I think I am out of the postpartum depression risk now.  I never felt any depression and am so thankful for that!  I am loving being a mom, maybe too much if that is possible.  I cry any time I think about him growing up and not being my little baby.  I’m not going to lie, there are times when I’m tired or frustrated, but it never fails that he will shoot me a big smile and I will immediately forget all what I was even frustrated about.

Special Events:  My first Mother’s Day was this month!  The three of us went to lunch and out to the park by our house to take some family photos.  It was a perfect day with my two favorite men.

Liam, these past four months have been the best months of our lives.  You are the best, sweetest, and cutest little baby and you have completed us in ways we could never have imagined.  We still stare at you in amazement.  I cannot believe that we created you and that you grew into this beautiful baby in my belly.  It still doesn’t seem real!  We are honored and blessed to be your parents, and we love you with all our hearts forever and always!

Leave a Reply

