Happy Half Birthday – 6 month update

18 Jul

I cannot believe that Liam is 6 months old today! It makes me so sad how quickly his infancy and babyhood is going by. I already have pangs of regret, feeling as though I didn’t hold him and rock him enough when he was tiny baby, and that I took that time for granted. I know at the time I was doing the best I could and spent every waking hour with him, but it still doesn’t seem as though it was enough! The time just flew by so fast and I totally underestimated how quickly they grow up. But, I cannot relive those early weeks, so I am trying to focus on each day and making the most of my time with this sweet baby boy.

Weight: I have no idea what he weighs right now, but he is getting so heavy. He weighed almost 16 lbs at 4 months so I predict he is about 18 lbs. We go for his 6 month check up on the 29th so we will know for sure then. Everyone that sees him and asks his age always comments on what a big baby he is. He has been a “solid” baby since he was born, but is starting to look a little chubbier now. His face has really filled out, which means more cheeks to kiss!

Temperament: Oh he is such a happy, easy-going baby and I am so thankful for that! He is happy wherever he is and just seems “along for the ride.” He almost never cries. He has stopped crying in the car when we go out by ourselves (thank goodness). He does “whine” at the house when he is ready to do something different or if I don’t get him out of the crib when he is awake in the morning, but no actual crying. He has been to Arkansas, California, and Florida now and hasn’t seemed to mind a bit that he is out of his element (or time zone). He was great in the car on our trip to FL. He slept most of the ride and would wake up to eat and play a little. We can keep him up past his bedtime if we need to (for dinners out and such) and he doesn’t mind a bit. He smiles at us (and the dogs) all the time and is starting to laugh at us a little. He LOVES attention and loves it when we play games with him. He is a little ham too. When other people are around, he really shows off all his tricks and tries new tricks! For example, when my parents visited early in the month he decided he was going to try balancing sitting up by himself, which he had never tried before. But, he is also happy to play by himself too. He can sit with a toy and play with it for 20 straight minutes if he is in the right mood. He will study every inch of it! He is such a determined baby. I can usually tell exactly what he is trying to do and love to watch him work tirelessly until he accomplishes his goal. He grunts like he is working really hard on a new trick (like crawling and sitting). Sometimes he gets frustrated with his toys and makes another mad grunting noise. He is quite the risk-taker. When sitting up, he will just put his arms out and fall backwards or sideways to get back down to his belly. It scares me every time because I’m afraid he will be hurt, but he just lights up with a big smile like it was SO fun! Words I would use to describe Liam this month are happy, determined, smart, brave, and laid back.

Activity: He said “dada” this month! he also said “baba” and many other babbles! Daddy moved hearing “dada” even though Liam doesn’t know what it means yet. His big accomplishment this month is sitting up unassisted! He can sit for 15-20 minutes (or longer if he wants) with no support. He looks like such a big boy sitting up. He also learned how to go from his belly to sitting, but has only done it twice so far. He is also getting up on all fours and rocking back and forth (working on crawling). So far he is only moving backwards. He gets up on his hands and knees and pushes backwards back down to his belly. He will get it figured out soon though. He can spin around on his belly to see and go whatever he wants. He is doing a “bridge” or “plank” where he sticks his bottom way up in the air on his tippy toes and it is so cute. He rarely lays on his back. Now that he has gained some mobility, he is starting to get into things. He has gotten into the dog bowls, the magazine rack, dog bed, and the items under the coffee table! He has made it from the den to the kitchen table. He usually likes to drag around a toy (Sophie, the Fish book, or his lamb) with him. He has played with the same toys so much that I think he is getting bored with them sometimes. He knows exactly where all the parts to grab are in his Fluffy Chick book as soon as I turn to that page (like the piggy tail and the good wing). I need to get another book like it to keep him interested. He also got a jumper this month from his Nana and Papa. He enjoys it for short stints (about 15 minutes at at time). He doesn’t jump all the much in it though, just likes to stand and play with the toys. He likes to play “ride a little horsey” and smiles so big when he “falls” him down. He took his first ride in the shopping cart at the grocery store just yesterday. He seemed amazed by all the colors and people. He looked around with big eyes the whole time.

Sleep: Most of the month he slept from 9:30 pm to 7:00 am. We are trying to move up his bedtime, but it is a slow going process (for us, not him). With his feedings, making and cleaning up dinner, and bath time, it is just hard to get him down much sooner. It is nice with him having a later bedtime because we can still go out to dinner with friends. But, everything I’ve read said he should be going to be before 8. So, we are working on it. I think it will be easier in the fall when it starts getting dark earlier. He is still napping in the swing, but I am going to try to transition him to the crib this month. When we are at home he typically naps from 9 am- 11:00 am, from 1:00 pm- 2:30 or 3:00 pm, 4:30-6:00 pm, and 7:30-8:30 pm. The late afternoon naps are getting shorter and shorter by the day. His optimal wake time is about 1.5 hours in the morning and 1.75 hours in the afternoon. He does just fine if we are out and about all day though. He doesn’t nap well when we are out, but it doesn’t impact his night sleep. Sometimes he gets a little fussy if he misses several naps.

Diet: Breastmilk and solids! He is loving pears, butternut squash, sweet potatoes, bananas, and prunes. He isn’t loving, but has tried, green beans, sweet peas, and avocado (apparently he has something against green). This month he is going to try zucchini, peaches, carrots, pumpkin, to name a few. He is eating solids 3 times a day and nursing 5 times a day. Hooray for making it to 6 months breastfeeding! The plan is to keep going as long as we can. It is getting more challenging as his body gets bigger, stronger, and heavier!

Outings: We take Liam everywhere (except the movies, which we are really really missing). He does great shopping and dining with us. He just takes in the sights and chills. As I mentioned, we traveled to Destin, FL and he did wonderful in the car and all week. Early in the month we were getting out nearly every day as I gathered up stuff for our beach trip and he did great. Since we got back we have barely gotten out (except on weekends) at all. He seems ok either way.

Clothes: He is definitely getting more and more wear out of his clothes now. His clothes sizes are all over the board depending on the brand. He is wearing 6-9 month sleepers from Children’s place, baby Gap, and Circo to sleep in. He is barely fitting in 6 month onesises. He can still wear some 3-6 month stuff from baby gap, Janie and Jack, and Gymboree, but the 6-9 or 6-12 month sizes fit too.

Postpartum- I am doing really well. I feel like my emotions are all over the place this month as my hormones are still trying to regulate. I’ve cried more this month than I have the whole time (happy cries, sad cries, and mad cries!). My c-section scar is not doing well. It is turning into a keloid (raised, red scar) and so I’m using steroid cream on it, which doesn’t seem to be helping. It is still itchy too. My body is basically back to pre-pregnancy. My mid section is still a bit wider and my skin is still looser, but I can wear all my pre-pregnancy pants now. I’m just feel like a big sack of loose skin and I’ve lost all muscle tone. I’m going to try to start working out now that my milk supply should be pretty well established. It is just hard to find the time. The gym we are going to join (the YMCA) has 2 hours of free childcare while you exercise, so I may try that at some point. I just don’t want to expose Liam to a bunch of kid germs. But, I think it would be good for him to be around other adults and kids (especially since he is getting a little clingy to Mommy). I am wanting to find some Mom groups to join. I find that being a stay at home mom gets pretty lonely. I go 10 hours a day most days without any conversation with adults. I think there are a lot of misconceptions and mis-understandings of SAHMs, but that is for another post.

Special Events: We took our first family vacation to Destin, FL. I was so looking forward to taking our son to Destin, a place that we both vacationed every summer as children. We truly came full circle. We both have so many memories there and it was so neat to be experiencing it with our own son. The trip was a bit of a mess between rain, storms, flooding and electricity issues, but we managed to make the best of it (and left two days early). It was nice just to get away from Nashville for a few days. My in-laws joined us on the trip and took great care of Liam. He loved spending time with them and was so happy while we were there. Mommy and Daddy got to go out to breakfast one day and lunch another day without the little guy too (missed him every second, but it was nice to be just the two of us for an hour or so). Liam was not too sure about the sand or the ocean water, but he did seem to enjoy the pool (the two times he got to swim anyway). He took one nap on the beach and it was so sweet! We didn’t get any family pictures due to the rain out and I’m still really upset about it.

Liam, in the short time you have been with us, you have managed to completely capture our hearts and rocked our world. You have brought us so much joy, happiness, and light into our lives. I fall more in love with you every single day and I don’t even know how that is possible. I dreamed of you and longed for you my whole life, and to have you here in my arms is a feeling I cannot describe. We have loved every second of watching you grow and learn. You amaze us each and every day. I smother you with kisses all day long. I can never get enough of them. When your Dad gets home from work, he tries to make up for all the kisses he missed out on during the day. He told you last night that while he is at work, he will get out of his phone and look through pictures of you because he misses you so much. I hope that you will always know how much we love you.

“I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always, as long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be.” (Tears)

Happy 6 months Baby Liam!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

