Liam – 8 month update

23 Sep

Whew.  I am glad this month is over.  This has been his fussiest month to date, and thus, the most challenging month for Mom and Dad!  I don’t know if it was teething, wonder weeks, or what, but we had some rough moments.  Liam is constantly learning new things and I am just in awe of him.

Temperament Our typically very happy, laid back baby had a rough month.  He has been fussy and displaying his dislike pretty consistently.  He even had several nights where he wouldn’t go to sleep initially or woke up in the middle of the night, which is incredibly rare for him (thank you Lord!).  He is learning to communicate what he wants through his body language and vocals.  It amazes me, but also causes us some struggle.  He never wants to sit still in the house.  He doesn’t want to be confined to a high chair, jumper, play pen, your lap, etc. during play time.  He wants to be on the floor exploring and practicing his skills.  We have had quite a few whiney dinners out with him this month as he gets bored with just sitting in the same place with nothing new to look at I think.  Puffs seem to keep him pretty content though.  He is getting a little more loving and will lay his head on my lap or hang close to me when he starts getting sleepy.  He has started laughing so much and I love it!  He is pretty ticklish too!  He is very curious and eager to learn.  He loves to explore the house and studies new things so close.  He is very observant and notices every little change to a room.  If something is different or new, he will see it right away.  He is still such a good baby and we are truly blessed to have an easy going kiddo!  Words to describe Liam this month are independent, frustrated, curious, observant, active, and busy!

Activity- This boy is active.  He is crawling all over the place at lightening speed.  I can’t take my eye off him for a second because he can get wherever he wants so quickly!  He is also pulling up on anything and everything he can.  He bends and sits down from standing on his own with no trouble too.  He is getting very steady standing and is holding on with just one hand now.  I feel that he will be free-standing any time now.  He isn’t cruising while standing a lot, but does from time to time.  We practiced throwing a ball a little and he loved it.  He loves playing rough with Daddy still.  He likes to “fly” around like superman and be held up in the air.

Sleep- For the most part he is still sleeping great.  As I mentioned, we had a few rough nights here and there.  Some was due to gas and others I have no idea.  We are working on his schedule and I think we have it about right for him now.  We eliminated a nap and that seemed helped with the nighttime issues.  He is now waking around 7:00 am, napping from approx. 9-10:30 am and napping from approx. 12:30-2:00pm.  Sometimes he needs a 30-45 minute nap around 4:15-5:00 pm too.  Then we do bath about 7:30, followed by a bottle and he is down around 8-8:15 pm.  I don’t know what to do with myself after we put him to bed.  I’m so used to putting him down at 10 and then going to bed myself.  I feel like going to bed at 8:30 is too early!

Diet- Still nursing 4-5 times a day!  He nurses at 7 am, 10:30 am, 2:00 pm, 5:00 pm (on occasion), and 7:45 pm.  We are working on solid food.  He has been refusing to eat most purees all month.  If I can get a couple of bites in him, I’m happy.  I have been spreading out his solid feedings and that has helped a little.  He has had some issues with constipation and gas this month too, so that isn’t helping the food situation.  He loves puffs and will eat as many as you will give him.  He also loves sweet potatoes.  I have started adding some spices like cinnamon and nutmeg to his pears and sweet potatoes to give him something different.  We are also trying to introduce finger foods with limited success.

Outings- His most exciting new outing this month was swinging at the park in a baby swing!  He LOVES swinging.  He smiles the entire time.  He likes when we try to grab his feet while he is swinging.  He is enamored with the other kids at the park too. I’m the crazy mom that lysol’s the swing and puts down blankets.  He always tries to chew on it and it grosses me out to think of what may be on that swing!  We did lots of the usual shopping and such.  He is riding in the carts with his cart cover the majority of the time and he really likes it.  He just looks around, bounces, and tries to grab things as we pass by.

Clothes- Still wearing 6-9 or 9-12 month clothes.  I went a little crazy on his fall wardrobe at baby gap!  They had some of the cutest things!  I have also been checking out some consignment stores/sales too. I bought him a few pairs of shoes for fall/winter since going out with bare feet will not be acceptable soon!  His feet are short and fat right now!

Postpartum- I’m doing ok.  My scar isn’t looking any better.  I’m still losing weight slowly and am under my pre-pregnancy weight by about a pound.  I’ve started running a little here and there, but want to get more consistent with it.  I’m trying to find my way as a stay at home mom and housewife.  I love it, but it is really really hard.  Much harder than I ever imagined.  I need to get involved with some other Moms of young babies.    I’m not sure if it is hormonal or what, but I get overwhelmed easily thinking about all the things I have to do.  I don’t get much accomplished in a day with Liam being so mobile and that stresses me out.  I am constantly challenged by Liam to find new things to entertain him.  He is an eager learner, just like his Mom, so I am studying to find out how best to teach him.

Special Events- We celebrated my 31st birthday this month.  Now that I’ve had a “birth” day of my own, birthdays really mean so much more to me.  We also took Liam to see the Bruce Monroe Light exhibit at Cheekwood gardens.  He loved it, I’m sure.

Liam- you are growing up so quickly.  I cannot believe how much you have changed in such a short time.  You are very smart and learning just how to wrap Mommy around your finger (and get your way).  I am constantly amazed by you.  I feel so lucky to be able to be home with you and watch you grow and develop.  I love being there for all your “firsts.”  You make me a better person.  Your Dad feels the same way. He had to be out of town a couple of times this month, and it was really hard on him to be away from you.  I sent him lots of pictures and videos so he could see what you were up to.  You are the light of our life and the apple of our eye :)  We adore you baby boy and thank God for you every day.  I love you with ALL of my heart!

Leave a Reply

