Liam – 9 month update

29 Oct

I’m so happy to report that this month was so much better than last month!! His fussy stage finally passed and it was a wonderfully fun month!  In fact, it may have been my favorite month yet!

Temperament- Our sweet, happy baby is back!  He has started loving on Mommy more and more.  He has also decided he adores his Daddy.  He gets sooo excited when he hears Jason come in from walk and crawls as fast as he can with the biggest grin on his face to greet Daddy.  He is starting to learn more social skills and attempting to communicate with us through verbal and physical cues.  He still has his moments where he gets upset (currently the car seat and diaper changes are his least favorite thing in the world). He has started laughing really hard pretty often and it is the best sound I’ve ever heard.  He really cracks himself up which is even funnier! He is very curious and eager to learn.  He loves to explore the house and studies new things so close.  He is very observant and notices every little change to a room.  If something is different or new, he will see it right away.  He is still such a good baby and we are truly blessed to have an easy going kiddo!  Words to describe Liam this month are happy, jovial, independent, curious, observant, active, and busy!

Activity- This boy is active.  He is crawling all over the place at lightening speed.  I can’t take my eye off him for a second because he can get wherever he wants so quickly!  He is also pulling up on anything and everything he can.  He bends and sits down from standing on his own with no trouble too.  He is getting very steady standing and is holding on with just one hand now.  He is cruising around the couch and coffee table, but hasn’t tried to stand on his own yet.  He loves playing rough with Daddy still.  The wrestle on the floor and Liam squeals and laughs.  We have started playing ball more and more and he loves chasing it around.  He also likes to watch Mommy and Daddy play “soccer” with the ball.  At the end of the month he suddenly started playing “peek a boo.”  It is the cutest thing I have ever seen when he holds the blanket (or whatever object is in his grasp) over his face and pulls it down with the biggest smile and giggle.

Sleep- Liam had a great month for sleep.  We finally got his schedule where it needed to be and things have been so much better.  He wakes up between 7-7:30 am.  Then he goes down for his morning nap around 9-9:30 am, depending on what time he woke up.  He usually sleeps for 2 hours.  He is also taking an afternoon nap around 1:00 pm and sleeps for 1.5-2 hours.  After that we keep him awake until bedtime.  We do bath at 7:30, then nursing, and down for the night by 8:00-8:15 pm.

Diet- Still nursing 4 times a day!  He nurses at 7 am, 11 am, 3:00 pm, and 7:45 pm. His solid food eating has vastly improved.  He loves bananas, sweet potatoes, pears, cantalope, turkey hot dogs, and toast.  We give him bites of what we are eating when it is appropriate and he generally likes it all.  He won’t eat veggies much at home, but he will eat them when we are at a restaurant.  He likes everything better at restaurants…hmm what does that say about my cooking?

Outings- We took him to the pumpkin patch at Cheekwood twice this month for fall photos.  He was not too crazy about the pumpkins.  He is getting more difficult to take out for extended periods of time as he gets antsy and bored.  So much for my little shopping buddy.  He does okay for about 30 minutes and then I have to use puffs to keep him happy.  Sigh.

Clothes- Still wearing 6-9 or 9-12 month clothes.  He has definitely grown a lot over the last month.  In fact, he grew out of his halloween outfit before he even got to wear it! Boo!

Postpartum- I’m doing ok.  My scar isn’t looking any better.  I’m still losing weight slowly and am under my pre-pregnancy weight by about 5 pounds.  I’ve started running a little here and there, but want to get more consistent with it.  I’m trying to find my way as a stay at home mom and housewife.  I love it, but it is really really hard.  Much harder than I ever imagined.  I need to get involved with some other Moms of young babies.    I’m not sure if it is hormonal or what, but I get overwhelmed easily thinking about all the things I have to do.  I don’t get much accomplished in a day with Liam being so mobile and that stresses me out.  I am constantly challenged by Liam to find new things to entertain him.  He is an eager learner, just like his Mom, so I am studying to find out how best to teach him.

Special Events-None this month.

Liam you are the light of our lives.  We love you so very much.  You have such a big personality and are a joy to be around (most of the time).  I look forward to all the new things that next month will bring!  XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

