Liam – 10 month update (way late!)

5 Dec

Woah have we been busy lately!  Between Halloween, traveling, parties and Thanksgiving, it feels like we have been going constantly the last month and a half!  Liam has been amazing over the last month.  His personality is coming out more and more.  He has been so happy and loving life!  I have loved every second with him!

Temperament: Liam is such a happy, silly boy!  He is very expressive and I always know exactly what he is about to do just by the look on his face.  He is full of laughter and joy.  At the same time, he is quite pensive and serious when experiencing new things or learning.  You can tell he is really focusing and trying hard to understand it all.  Sometimes he wants to be the center of attention and other times he is happy to play quietly with a toy.  He gets aggravated when he is trying to do something new and he can’t do it.  For example, he has been trying to crawl up on the furniture and starts fussing when he can’t get up.  I think we have a budding Type A on our hands.  He is so good when we are out of the house as well.  When he is in a shopping cart he turns around (away from me) and rides facing forward because he wants to see everything and everyone.  He will smile and squeal at people to get attention.  His little head just whips around looking at everything.  He has been doing really well in restaurants too.  We moved him to a high chair 100% of the time now and he loves it.  He is usually turned away from us eating and looking around at people.  We had one dinner in Asheville, NC that he was banging a spoon on the table and squealing with glee.  Thankfully it was really loud with live music so no one was annoyed and thought it was so cute.  Shopping in the stroller is probably his least favorite activity (of course) and he can only tolerate about an hour before he gets antsy.  That’s when the snacks come out! :)

Activity:  This kid is SO busy.  He is going non-stop from the second he wakes up until he takes a nap.  He is pulling up and cruising around everywhere.  He just started trying to stand alone at the end of the month.  He is such an efficient crawler that I don’t think he has much interest in walking (and that is OK with me).  He really started babbling more this month too.  His talking has come and gone over the last few months but now it is pretty constant.  I can’t say for sure that he has said a word yet, but he “ruffs” at dogs and I think he said Maddy twice.  He likes to hand me books to read.  He is throwing balls around and then chasing them.  He usually picks out one or two random toys/items to carry around as his favorite for a few days and then he will change it up.  He loves to play with the remote and our cell phones.

Sleep:  He is such a good sleeper.  I think he gets it from his parents because we both like our sleep.  He is sleeping from 8 pm- 7:00 (or 7:30) am.  He takes two naps that average 2 hours each if we are at home.  If we are out and about he sometimes misses his afternoon nap and does fine without it.  His morning nap is the most crucial.  He really likes that nap and seems to need it.  If we miss it, he can get pretty grumpy later in the day.

Diet:  This kid eats like a horse!  Sometimes I don’t think he has a “full” point.  He will eat anything and everything we put in front of him (except green beans).  He loves his turkey hot dogs, sweet potatoes, pears, peaches, veggie burgers, corn, sweet peas, carrots, tofu, cheerios, bread, muffins, etc.  He is also nursing/bottle 3 times a day.  He loves water and drinks it with his meals.

Outings:  We have been out and about quite a bit.  Of course the biggest outing was Trick or Treating!  We just walked around the “block party” to check everything out.  He seemed pretty bored with it! ha! We traveled to Asheville, NC and went to the Biltmore earlier in the month.  He did great and got to see the largest house in America.  It was really really cold but he didn’t seem to mind.  We also traveled to Atlanta to shop and watch the Falcons v. Seahawks game. That was really fun!  He loved the game and was cheering along with the crowd.  He fell asleep in the carrier in the 4th quarter.

Clothes:  He is wearing 9-12 month, 12 month, and 12-18 month clothes (depending on the brand).  He is long waisted so most of the one piece overall type clothes I have bought don’t fit!  I was so sad when his adorable Halloween overalls were too small!  He doesn’t mind wearing hats and we have quite a few for the cold weather.  He usually pulls his shoes and socks off shortly after we put them on.

Postpartum:  I’m doing great.  I feel like I’m pretty much back to my old self again, mentally and physically.  As they say, it takes 9 months to have a baby and 9 months to recover.  I’m about 5 pounds less than pre-baby weight.  I am shaped differently and the skin on my tummy is still loose from the enormous belly I had.  I think if I started working out it would help.  I’m planning to join the YMCA in the spring.  They do free childcare while you work out, but I want to wait until all the winter sickness has passed to protect Liam as long as I can.  I am supposed to run a half marathon at the end of April, so I’ need to get on the ball with training.  Mentally, I’m feeling the best yet.  There was a low point in August/September where I felt a little depressed.  The enormity of all this change hit me all at once I think.  But, I’ve come out on the other side of it better than before.  I am still struggling a bit with my new identity of “stay at home mom” and questioning what I want to do from here.  My original plan was to stay home with Liam for the first year and then re-assess.  I would love to find something I can do from home or part time, but we’ll see.  I can’t imagine spending 8 hours a day, 5 days a week without him.

Special Events:  Liam’s first Halloween! Liam was the cutest little lion I have ever seen!  He didn’t mind his costume or the big head cover at all.  It kept him nice and warm on the chilly night too.  I’m pretty sure Jason and I enjoyed it way more than he did.  It was such a special thing to dress up our very own baby for his first Halloween.  We went to the Belle Meade Halloween block party (which happens to be the street behind ours so we could walk).  We walked around and tried to get food at the food trucks (too long of a wait…boo).  Then we took treats to our neighbors and friends.  It was a fun and memorable night (even if it was stormy and cold).

Liam, somehow I fall more in love with you every day.  Your Dad and I are in awe of you.  You are our every joy.  You make us laugh and keep us entertained.  I don’t know what we did with all our time before you were born!  It is still two months until your birthday and I am already a weepy mess thinking about you being a year old.  The time has literally flown by.  You are quickly turning into a little boy and it is bittersweet.  I will miss baby Liam so, so very much.  This has without a doubt been the best 10 months of my entire life and nothing will ever top it.  I love you with ALL my heart!

I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always.  As long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be.

 

Leave a Reply

