Well hello there….

4 Mar

Goodness it has been such a long time since I have blogged. I am so mad at myself for not keeping up with the monthly updates on Liam. With Christmas, his 1st birthday, and a trip to California, I just haven’t had a lot of spare time and needed a bit of a break.

Liam has really progressed so much in the last couple of months! It is mind-boggling how quickly they change.

At 12 months, Liam was still crawling and cruising. His first word was “that” and it is still his main word. He was still nursing twice a day (go Mama!). He was sleeping from 8 pm – 7:30 am with a morning nap and an afternoon nap. He had four teeth. He was eating more food than I could keep up with. His favorite foods were bananas, sweet potatoes, and organic turkey hot dogs. His favorite toys were books, books, and more books. He was a happy, active boy!

A lot has changed since then! He is now walking!! He is walking about 30% of the time right now. It is so strange how a week ago he was crawling 100% of the time and now all of a sudden he is walking! He is “talking” constantly, but I usually don’t know what he is saying. He says this, that, yes, Mama (only when whining), and Da (for Dada). He repeats what we say from time to time as well. He absolutely LOVES LOVES LOVES dogs. He gasps and squeals when he sees a dog (or pictures of dogs) and starts talking and pointing. It is adorable. He loves animal books and points at each animal for us to name. He is playing with his walkers and push cars a lot as he transitions in to walking. He loves to wrestle, chase, and climb….such a boy. He is incredibly strong and can hold his own weight (as we found out after letting him hang on a chin up bar…don’t worry, Jason’s hands were right beside him ready to catch). He is very loving, gives hugs, and snuggles up to me when he is getting tired. He slept with me a couple of nights when we were in LA and he stayed tucked up tight against me all night long. I loved it (even though I didn’t get much sleep). He has the biggest smile that lights up the whole room and my whole world. He has two teeth on bottom and 4 teeth on top now. He isn’t eating nearly as much as he was before his 1st birthday, but he is eating more variety. We give him the option to eat anything we are eating (that is safe for him of course). His favorite is Mexican food, which was totally unexpected. He won’t eat avocado plain, but can kill some guacamole and chips! He seems to like more spicy foods and fresh foods. His favorite thing to eat is still fruit, blueberries and grapes in particular. He is fully transitioned to all whole milk. Right before he turned 13 months we had our last nursing session. It was very hard for me mentally, but Liam didn’t seem to notice much, other than being a little clingy to me. We were able to go the park a few times over the last week and a half due to some unseasonably warm weather and he had a blast. He crawled up the slides and spent some time in the swing. He mostly enjoys just watching the other kids. I really think seeing the other kids playing is what got him to start walking. I am really looking forward to spring and being able to spend more time outside playing. His hair has grown a lot. He still hasn’t needed a haircut though. His hair is strawberry blonde and so so soft. He has a few curls in the back that are just adorable! He doesn’t like to lay still for diaper changes. He is starting to enjoy watching cartoons a little. He likes to point out whatever things are on his pjs/clothes. If we ask him what is on his shirt, he will point to it. He and his Dad started a band-aid routine where Jason will put a Jack and the Neverland Pirates band-aid on his shirt sleeve in the morning. We can ask him where his band aid is and he will point to it every time. So cute. He is very nosey and spends lots of time going through drawers, sacks, closets, etc. He is wearing mostly 12-18 month clothing now, although he can still wear some 6-12 month things from the baby gap. He is about 30″ tall and 22 lbs.

Liam, I can’t describe to you the sheer joy you have brought to my life over the last year. Watching you grow from a tiny, helpless baby to a strong, walking little boy has been the most amazing thing I have ever witnessed. You are the light of my world. I love you with all that I am and all that I will ever be. You have completed me and made me a better person through and through. There is no doubt in my mind that you have taught me more than I have taught you this year. Your Dad and I are so incredibly proud to be your parents.

I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always. As long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be!

Leave a Reply

